to top 10 table

10 Best Personalized Children’s Books Reviewed in 2020

last updated Aug 01, 2019

Who does not like reading about themselves, especially in a colorful and interesting book? Children love personalized storybooks that have their likeness in them or that spell out their names. We feature in this informative buying guide the best-rated and the most-reviewed personalized children’s books being offered by makers currently. Customers have judged these as the most excellent choices they would buy again because they liked them so much. They are all beautifully illustrated and written to entertain the child that is aged from newborn to eight-years-old. You could not find a better gift for a holiday, birthday, or baby shower than one of these exceptional personal books. We are excited to highlight them here for your enhanced shopping experience. Here are the best, personalized children’s books in 2019.

In a Hurry? The test winner after 38 hrs of research

icon
 I See Me! Birthday Party
98.7/100 our score
Design
98
Entertainment Value
99
Price Range
99
I See Me! Birthday Party
Why is it better?

Is a strong board book of twenty pages

Pages are durable and thick

Ideal for toddlers and babies

Winner of the Mom’s Choice Awards

Encourages kids to read longer and more often

In a Hurry? Editors choice:
 I See Me! Birthday Party
Test Winner: I See Me! Birthday Party
Amazon Link
Researched Sources
21
Researched Sources
Hours Researching
38
Hours Researching
Products Evaluated
18
Products Evaluated
Sorting Options
Design Entertainment Value Price Range By Default
Rank
PictureProduct
Name
Rating
Shops
#1
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
98.7
Design
98 %
Entertainment Value
99 %
Price Range
99 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (28.09.20)
Amazon Link
$29.99
#2
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
96.7
Design
97 %
Entertainment Value
95 %
Price Range
98 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (28.09.20)
Amazon Link
$34.95
#3
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
94.3
Design
94 %
Entertainment Value
94 %
Price Range
95 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (28.09.20)
Amazon Link
$29.99
#4
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
93.3
Design
93 %
Entertainment Value
95 %
Price Range
92 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (28.09.20)
Amazon Link
$29.99
#5
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
91
Design
90 %
Entertainment Value
92 %
Price Range
91 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (28.09.20)
Amazon Link
$29.99
#6
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
88.7
Design
88 %
Entertainment Value
90 %
Price Range
88 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (28.09.20)
Amazon Link
$29.99
#7
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
85.3
Design
85 %
Entertainment Value
87 %
Price Range
84 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (28.09.20)
Amazon Link
$44.95
#8
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
82.3
Design
83 %
Entertainment Value
84 %
Price Range
80 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (28.09.20)
Amazon Link
$34.95
#9
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
77.7
Design
80 %
Entertainment Value
75 %
Price Range
78 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (28.09.20)
Amazon Link
$18.00
#10
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
72
Design
74 %
Entertainment Value
70 %
Price Range
72 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (28.09.20)
Amazon Link
$34.95

10 Best Personalized Children’s Books Reviewed

1. I See Me! Birthday Party

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
98.7
 I See Me! Birthday Party
Amazon Link
Design
98
Entertainment Value
99
Price Range
99
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$29.99

Is a strong board book of twenty pages

Pages are durable and thick

Ideal for toddlers and babies

Winner of the Mom’s Choice Awards

Encourages kids to read longer and more often

A few misspelled names occurred

Some birthdates were incorrect

The Happy Birthday Personalized Custom Name Book for Girls has a dedication page from the sender of the gift and includes the kid’s birth date, gender, and full name. It will be treasured for many years and is a unique birthday gift.

Read more

Design

This terrific item is a strong board book of twenty pages made just for girls in the age range of newborn to six-years-old. Colorful and interesting, the pages are durable, thick, and ideal for toddlers and babies. It tells the tale of animal friends such as Turtle, Duck, Mouse, and Bluebird that join together to make your child a cake and party for the special day. The cover is personalized, and the story is customized with the child’s name. Encouraging kids to read longer and more often, this great book is the winner of the Mom’s Choice Awards.

Entertainment Value

The book uses friendly animals to gather and prepare for your child’s birthday party. This is a cute story that will entertain the little one for bedtime and any time you need a story to read aloud. Kids can relive their birthday over and over when they read or look at this book. It is customized for a special birthday wish from a warm-hearted relative who wants to give a meaningful gift.

Price Range

The cost of this lovely book is average. It derives its value from being a sturdy board book, being customized for the kid’s name and gender, and having an interesting birthday story to celebrate the unique day.

2. I See Me! Truck Tractors

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
96.7
 I See Me! Truck Tractors
Amazon Link
Design
97
Entertainment Value
95
Price Range
98
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$34.95

Includes a page with the name of the sender

Has an encyclopedia of 62 vehicles and fun facts

Great for holidays, special occasions, and birthdays

Aids in learning names and letters

Won the Parent-Tested Parent-Approved Award

Pages may be thinner and sharper than expected

The pictures of the encyclopedia vehicles are small

Being a hardcover book of thirty pages, the Boys Truck Tractors Personalized Name Book makes a perfect present for a boy’s birthday. It is also suitable for a girl as well if you have a girl that likes trucks and vehicles.

Read more

Design

This fantastic product includes the child’s gender, birth date, and full name, plus has a dedication page with the name of the sender. Featuring an encyclopedia of 62 various vehicles that is illustrated and contains fun facts, it is a great gift for holidays, special occasions, and birthdays. It is a lasting treasure to keep for the kid, as it aids children in learning their own names and the letters that make them up. Different vehicles are used in the story to spell out the kid’s name and end in a celebration of the lights and horns of the vehicles. Great for kids aged two to eight-years-old, it is the recipient of the Parent-Tested Parent-Approved Award.

Entertainment Value

This amazing book will get kids to read more often and for longer periods of time because they are included. It will also educate them on the many types of vehicles that are involved in our daily lives.

Price Range

This is one of the higher-priced books featured here. It is valued for the included encyclopedia of vehicles with pictures, the inclusion of the child’s name throughout the tale, and the colorful unique graphics.

3. I See Me! ABC Alphabet

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
94.3
 I See Me! ABC Alphabet
Amazon Link
Design
94
Entertainment Value
94
Price Range
95
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$29.99

Has the child’s full name, home state, and gender

Includes a dedication page for the sender

Aids autistic or special needs kids greatly

Explores many types of careers

Instills encouragement early in life

Might be thinner than expected

A few givers thought there should be a place for a photo in the front

The Personalized ABC Alphabet Letters Book includes very colorful and exciting illustrations to look at and is great for kids aged two to eight-years-old.

Read more

Design

It has the full name of the child, home state, and gender in the story, plus a dedication page for the sender. This incredible softcover book of 24 pages will be cherished for many years because of its uniqueness. It aids autistic or special needs kids greatly and won the Preferred Choice Award from Creative Child Magazine and the Mom’s Choice Award. Exploring the many types of careers the child could have in their lifetime, it instills encouragement early in life for occupation and career. It starts at astronaut and ends with a zookeeper, as the name of the kid is in the pictures and in the story too.

Entertainment Value

Parents must encourage reading in any way that will positively affect the child. Seeing their own name on the pages and hearing it said aloud when the story is read makes it so fun and enjoyable. Not only is the child a part of the story, but their name is spelled out with the featured occupations that are shown throughout the book. This really makes the reading and viewing special for the child.

Price Range

This fabulous item has an average price. It has the great qualities of using various careers to explore the child’s name, is very colorful and bright, and uses the kid in the story.

4. I See Me! I Can Change The World

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
93.3
 I See Me! I Can Change The World
Amazon Link
Design
93
Entertainment Value
95
Price Range
92
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$29.99

Great for autistic or special needs kids

Uses the child’s full name, skin tone, and hair color

Gives a positive outlook on change

Shows the power in the world of kindness

Ideal for both boys and girls

May be fewer pages than expected

Some parent said that it was not targeted for the right ages

Great for autistic or special needs kids. The I Can Change the World Personalized Name Book uses the child’s full name, skin tone, and hair color for customizing the story and pictures. It has a page for the sender to be listed as a dedication and is ideal for both boys and girls.

Read more

Design

This unique book highlights kindness acts that are exhibited in the story and gives a positive outlook on change. It shows kids that they have the power to change the world with kindness and aids in learning how to read in a specialized way. Great for ages two to eight-years-old, it teaches children about good friends, doing chores, using good manners, and giving food to the hungry. It is a hardcover book of twenty pages that has the kid’s name in the story and in the pictures. Great for autistic or special needs kids, this wonderful book is the winner of the Parent-Tested Parent-Approved Award and the Mom’s Choice Award.

Entertainment Value

Children can explore their own name and the many acts of kindness they can do in this lovely colorful book. They will learn to read faster because they will be excited to have their name in the story. Kids need to know that they are powerful enough alone to change the world and make a big difference in the lives of others. This cheerful book can be the start of such a movement to motivate young children.

Price Range

The cost of this terrific book is average. It has the great features of showing kindness act to kids, using the child’s name in the pictures and wording and being a positive book of change.

5. The Little Boy Who Lost His Name

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
91
 The Little Boy Who Lost His Name
Amazon Link
Design
90
Entertainment Value
92
Price Range
91
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$29.99

Great for shared reading as it opens up large

Choose the main character that is like the child

The child’s name is uncovered along the way

Is a unique and different bedtime story

Is an adventure of curiosity, kindness, and courage

Some parents did not like the overall quality of the book

Names that are long make the story too long

The Little Boy Who Lost His Name is a unique tale using the letters in the kid’s name with every story being different. Wonderfully illustrated and written, it makes an ideal gift or present for birthdays and holidays.

Read more

Design

It is great for shared reading because it is a landscape book that opens up large and is printed on high-quality thick paper in a paperback format. Perfect for kids aged newborn to eight-years-old, it has a minimum of 24 sturdy pages and is a terrific bedtime story. Choose the main character that resembles the child the best when ordering. The letters in the kid’s name determine the tale and the various characters that are encountered. The child’s name is uncovered as the story goes along in this magical adventure of curiosity, kindness, and courage.

Entertainment Value

This book comes custom-made to fit the name of your child and the individual character you pick. It is the best way possible to have a story written specifically for your special little one. As the child reads along or as the parent reads to the child, the name of the kid becomes apparent when the names of the animals encountered spell out the name of the child.

Price Range

With a below-average cost, this lovely personalized book for boys is unique to the kid’s name, is big for shared reading pleasure, and has strong long-lasting pages to flip through.

6. The Little Girl Who Lost Her Name

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
88.7
 The Little Girl Who Lost Her Name
Amazon Link
Design
88
Entertainment Value
90
Price Range
88
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$29.99

The name determines the tale and the characters

Printed on high-quality thick paper

Every story is different and exciting

Wonderfully illustrated and written bedtime story

Makes an ideal gift for birthdays and holidays

Some people said the choice of three characters is not enough

A few parents thought that the child’s name would be used in the story too

For this personalized book for girls, you choose the main character that best looks like the child when purchasing. The letters in the child’s name determine the story and the different characters that are met.

Read more

Design

In The Little Girl Who Lost Her Name, the child’s name is discovered as the story unfolds. It is a great bedtime story for children aged newborn to eight-years-old. As an exciting adventure of curiosity, kindness, and courage, it is great for reading with others because it is a large book that opens up wide. Printed on top-quality sturdy paper in a paperback edition, this fantastic book has a minimum of 24 strong pages and is beautifully illustrated and written. Every story is special in an exquisite tale that uses the letters in the child’s name. This superb item makes an amazing gift or present for birthdays and holidays.

Entertainment Value

Children are more inclined to read for longer periods of time and more often if they are interested in the topic. A book that has them in it and their name will keep them engaged and happy.

Price Range

The price for this cute book for girls is below-average. It is valued for its landscape format, beautiful positive story, and gorgeous colorful illustrations and characters to explore the child’s name.

7. The Advantures of Beatrice

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
85.3
 The Advantures of Beatrice
Amazon Link
Design
85
Entertainment Value
87
Price Range
84
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$44.95

Has colorful characters that are in the circus

Kid’s name is revealed at the end of the story

Gives positive messages throughout the tale

Has thick paper and a durable hardcover

Binding tools, inks, and paper are safe and green

Can be too long for some kids

Does not have the child’s name in the story – just at the end

With this remarkable Personalized Story Picture for Children, each book is different and uses the letters of the kid’s name to determine the story.

Read more

Design

It has colorful characters that are in the circus and uses a magical alphabet from a wizard to show their special powers of the letters. The kid’s name is revealed at the end of the story as a surprise and makes reading engaging and fun. This wonderful picture book is handmade and gives positive messages throughout the tale. It has thick quality paper and a durable hardcover, plus the binding tools, inks, and paper used are environmentally-friendly. The cover is durable to stand up to normal wear and tear, making it great for a holiday or birthday gift. Best for kids aged two to eight-years-old, this fabulous book has at least 38 pages depending on the name length of the child.

Entertainment Value

The story of this incredible book is of magic and wizardry, so it makes your child’s name seem so special and mystical. Kids will be so excited to see their name revealed in the final pages of the book. We all love to be involved in stories and adventures, so a personalized book, such as this one, lets your child be the main focus. It develops their self-esteem and courage along with their great reading and listening skills.

Price Range

The price for this unique personalized book is average. It has the great features of having a cute interesting story, being created with a green process, and giving a positive happy message to kids while reading.

8. I See Me! My Very Own Name

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
82.3
 I See Me! My Very Own Name
Amazon Link
Design
83
Entertainment Value
84
Price Range
80
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$34.95

Features 61 animals in an illustrated encyclopedia

Includes a dedication page for the sender

Makes the kid feel special and unique

Great for both girls and boys

Aids kids in learning their name at an early age

Could be longer than expected

Is a rather large book for a small child to handle

Featuring 61 animals in an included illustrated encyclopedia in the back, this Personalized Owl Book uses the child’s full name, birth date, and gender in the story.

Read more

Design

It includes a dedication page for the sender’s information and will be cherished for many years by the parents and the child. This amazing book makes the kid feel special and unique with their name in the wording and illustrations. It is a hardcover book of 35 pages that is great for both girls and boys. Ideal for the ages of newborn to six-years-old, it aids kids in learning and recognizing their name at an early age. The tale has different animals each bringing a letter to spell the child’s name that matches the first letter of the animal they are, such as an ostrich bringing an O. It is the winner of the iParenting Media Award, the Creative Child Magazine Preferred Choice Award, and the Mom’s Choice Award.

Entertainment Value

The large encyclopedia of 61 animals in the rear of the story make this one exceptional book. Kids will not only learn about their name and the letters but also about the many animals that are used in this book. As each animal brings and contributes a letter to your child’s name, the words of the story are in a cute rhyme. Add to this the gorgeous illustrations on every page, and this is a book to treasure always.

Price Range

This is one of the higher-priced books on this list. It is valued for its encyclopedia of animals in the back, the beautiful way the child’s name is spelled out, and the rhyming phrases to make it interesting and fun.

9. First Time Zoo Adventure

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
77.7
 First Time Zoo Adventure
Amazon Link
Design
80
Entertainment Value
75
Price Range
78
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$18.00

Uses the physical characteristics of both kids

All pages are customized for the two children

Makes a wonderful gift from relatives

Is a positive story that is good for bedtime

Motivates kids to read more often and longer

Some parents did not appreciate the advertising of other books on the back cover

The illustrations did not look like some of the kids

With your child and a friend in the storyline and pictures, the Personalized Zoo Adventure Book is a positive and pleasant story that is great for bedtime.

Read more

Design

The story is of the two friends being in the zoo after closing and the animals aid them in getting out. It incorporates the physical characteristics of both children using their ethnicity, gender, hair color, and names. Kids will like reading about themselves in this 28-page paperback book made of top-quality paper. All pages are customized for the two children and make a wonderful gift from relatives. Personalized stories such as this one motivate kids to read when they are included in the story and illustrations.

Entertainment Value

Most other personalized books for kids only include them in the tale, but this one has a friend join in too. This makes reading time more thrilling for the child and encourages them to read. This is one of the more interesting stories of the personalized book line. It uses the two kids in a fun and exciting tale of them being trapped in the zoo when it closes. It is great for all ages and is not scary.

Price Range

Having the lowest cost of all listed books, this cute tale about the zoo includes your child and a friend in the story, uses both of their physical appearances in the pictures, and is a very interesting story for bedtime.

10. I See Me! Sweet Dreams Fairy

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
72
 I See Me! Sweet Dreams Fairy
Amazon Link
Design
74
Entertainment Value
70
Price Range
72
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$34.95

Has a dedication page with the sender’s name

Is a terrific long-time keepsake

The child is the main character

Eases the child into sleep at bedtime

Child’s name is in the colorful illustrations

Some people thought the book was bigger than it really is

Pages might be thinner than expected

The Book About Fairies is a unique story for bedtime that includes the kid’s first name and last name, skin tone, hair color, and current city in the story. The dedication page can include the sender’s name, making this book ideal as a baby shower gift or birthday present.

Read more

Design

The main character is a fairy, which goes by the name of the child. They can be the star of the fairy tale in this hardcover 24-page book that is a terrific long-time keepsake. Perfect for little girls that are newborn to eight-years-old, it makes your child feel special with their own book as them as the main character. It tells of the daily life of the forest fairy to ease your child into sleep at bedtime. This fairy book is the recipient of the Mom’s Choice and Parent-Tested Approved Awards. Your child will like seeing their own name in the beautiful, colorful illustrations and storyline.

Entertainment Value

The child that receives this incredible book will feel so special reading about themselves as an adorable fairy. The story puts them in the limelight of the book as the main character doing all the action.

Price Range

This is one of the most expensive books listed on this page. It has the great features of gorgeous colorful graphics, placing the child as the main character, and including many personal details of the kid in the story.

Criteria Used for Evaluation

Design

In our informative buying guides, we feature only the best-rated and the most-reviewed products of any given category. This ensures that only the best items are exhibited for your decision-making in choosing the ideal one for your child and family. Customers have ranked these as the best of the products that makers are currently offering, and they would purchase them again because they are highly satisfied. The personalized book with the most reviews is the Happy Birthday Book for Girls. There are three books on this list with perfect ratings. They are The Owl Book, the Custom Kids Keepsake Name Book, and the Book About Fairies. Buyers were exceptionally pleased with these items.

Entertainment Value

These tales are all full of cartoon people characters and beautifully drawn animals to entertain the child as their name is spelled out or discovered. Some of the books use the name in the story, as well as what the child looks like and where they live. Others use the letters of the name and build the name throughout the book to reveal the full name on the last pages. Either way, they are all very interesting and captivating to the child that has their name involved in the action of the tale.

Price Range

To give you current information concerning the price and value of each product, we calculate an average with the most recent costs and compare it to each individual price. Because the prices change often online, we find it is best to just indicate each cost as average, above-average, or below-average as it compares to this figured average. You will also find in the individual Cost and Value sections, several best qualities or features that give the item its wonderful value for the cost. The prices for these personalized children’s books are quite similar, so the price range is not very wide.

Three of them are the highest-priced and four of them are the average. One is the lowest in price, while the remaining two are below-average. The books with the highest price are the Boys Truck Tractors Book, the Owl Book, and the Book About Fairies. The lowest cost is the Zoo Adventure Book. These items differ in the materials used to create the books, the sizes, number of pages, and the format of the content. Some of them just use the name of the child in the book several times, while others truly incorporate the letters of the kid’s name into the story. Those books must be custom-made when ordered, so they tend to more expensive and take longer to ship to you.

Most Important Criteria (According to our experts opinion)
Sort criterias acording to:
Experts Opinion Editors Opinion Users Opinion By Default
Click on a to rate the most important criteria:
#1
Design
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#2
Entertainment Value
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#3
Price Range
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
Parents, Did You Know?

Some of these books use the letters of the child’s name to spell it out letter by letter in the story, while a few of the others use the name and similar personal features to tell a story.

Parents, Did You Know?

The child is the main character is the latter type of tales. All of them incorporate the kid’s name is one way or another, so be sure to get the format that you prefer best for the name reveal.

Other Factors to Consider

Educational Value

All of these personalized stories have wonderful graphics and illustrations of the many characters and animals used to build the child’s name. Even if the child is not a good reader yet, they will enjoy looking at the pictures and all the details they hold. With the colorful illustrations, kids can imagine what the author means to say, especially when the words may not be clear to them. Sometimes, the graphics mean more to kids than the words of the story themselves. The pictures are meant to entice the kid into reading the words to discover the story in detail. As they put the two together, they will then be able to fully appreciate the whole book.

Frequently Asked Questions

q: Do these books simply use the child’s name in the story?

a:

Some use the name in the story and the characteristics of the child, while others build the name with letters as the story unfolds. We specify which type each book is in the summary sections above.

q: The ones that do not specify if they are for a girl or boy, which are they for? Does it matter?

a:

The books that have “Lost His Name” and “Lost Her Name” in them are specifically for one sex or the other. We would imagine that the characters used are boys or girls in the story. All of the other books can be for either sex, except for maybe the Book About Fairies, which tends to be of girls only. This is a personal call of course on the giver or parent who would know the child the best.

q: Would any of these make good gifts for birthdays or holiday presents?

a:

They would all make excellent gifts for any occasion or event for a child within the ages of newborn to eight-years-old.

q: What age group are these books for?

a:

Most of the age limits are from newborn to eight-years-old. This is because they make ideal baby shower gifts and will keep the child engaged in reading to about the age of eight.

q: What is a common complaint from online customers about these books?

a:

Some parents were not pleased with the paper used in the books or the cut. We noticed several complaints of sharp edges on the paper or that the paper was thin. There are basically two types of books here also, so that is important to understand. Some use the child’s name in the story, while others simply spell out the name with the story.

q: Is the length of the book based on the length of the child’s name for the books that use the letters of the first name?

a:

Yes, as each character or animal in the story brings out or discovers a letter in your child’s name the whole name is revealed at the end of the story. So, a child with a long name would have a longer story that a kid with a short name. A few of the makers did state that kids with shorter names would have pages added to give them a book worthy of the book quality. We came across one comment from a parent who put both the first and last name of the child in the book because both were short. They were not pleased with the result because the book was then too long. Be sure to look for any minimum or maximum that may be enforced for the number of letters in the names.

Sources

  1. SUSAN GOLDBERG , Learning to read: What age is the , Online Article
  2. Unknown Author, Helping Your Child Learn to Read, Online Article
  3. Cynthia M. Zettler-Greeley, PhD, Reading Milestones, Online Article