to top 10 table

10 Best Potty Training Pants Reviewed in 2020

last updated Sep 17, 2019

Let’s talk about potty training! One of the most dreaded but exciting times for parents is potty training your toddler. The good side of this kind of pants: eventually no more diapers. Potty training pants are a wonderful way to get your little one to feel like they are a big kid. On our top ten list below, we included various styles for both girls and boys so that each gender is equally represented. It’s important for parents to remember that they need to purchase the correct training pants for their toddlers' gender as their anatomy is different.

In a Hurry? The test winner after 30 hrs of research

icon
 Gerber Little Girls’ 4 pack
99/100 our score
Design
99
Comfort
99
Value
99
Gerber Little Girls’ 4 pack
Why is it better?

Girly patterns

Extra padding in the crotch

High rise

Minimal shrinkage

Easy on and off

In a Hurry? Editors choice:
 Gerber Little Girls’ 4 pack
Test Winner: Gerber Little Girls’ 4 pack
Amazon Link
Researched Sources
21
Researched Sources
Hours Researching
30
Hours Researching
Products Evaluated
15
Products Evaluated
Last Updated:
Avatar
By Cassie Sheets:

For this update we made sure all products were still the highest rated. We also added more information to our criteria section regarding training pants for toddlers.

Sorting Options
Design Comfort Value By Default
Rank
PictureProduct
Name
Rating
Shops
#1
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
99
Design
99 %
Comfort
99 %
Value
99 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (28.11.20)
Amazon Link
$14.97
#2
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
98.3
Design
99 %
Comfort
98 %
Value
98 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (28.11.20)
Amazon Link
$10.94
#3
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
97.7
Design
98 %
Comfort
98 %
Value
97 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (28.11.20)
Amazon Link
$13.99
#4
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
96.7
Design
97 %
Comfort
97 %
Value
96 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (28.11.20)
Amazon Link
$11.99
#5
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
95.7
Design
96 %
Comfort
96 %
Value
95 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (28.11.20)
Amazon Link
$6.79
#6
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
94.7
Design
95 %
Comfort
95 %
Value
94 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (28.11.20)
Amazon Link
$25.37
#7
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
93.7
Design
94 %
Comfort
94 %
Value
93 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (28.11.20)
Amazon Link
$10.92
#8
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
93
Design
93 %
Comfort
93 %
Value
93 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (28.11.20)
Amazon Link
$11.99
#9
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
91.7
Design
92 %
Comfort
92 %
Value
91 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (28.11.20)
Amazon Link
$14.99
#10
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
90
Design
90 %
Comfort
90 %
Value
90 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (28.11.20)
Amazon Link
$2.99

10 Best Potty Training Pants

1. Gerber Little Girls’ 4 pack

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
99
gerber girls potty training pants pink
gerber girls potty training pants dots
gerber girls potty training pants 4 pack
Amazon Link
Design
99
Comfort
99
Value
99
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$14.97

Girly patterns

Extra padding in the crotch

High rise

Minimal shrinkage

Easy on and off

Leg holes run large

The Gerber Little Girls’ 4 Pack training pants have gotten our number one spot. These training pants come in cute designs to keep your little lady interested.

Read more

Design

The rise is higher than typical underwear, so it more closely mimics the fit of a diaper. Many children will feel more comfortable with a higher rise undergarment. They have a thick waistband to help with pulling up and down during potty time. She can find them in her favorite girlie colors. They have plenty of great features that make them a perfect selection for training underwear.

Comfort

The crotch is double padded in the middle to help contain small accidents. The entire training pant is made from 100% cotton for comfort. This training pant has minimal shrinkage when washed.

Value

These Gerber Girls’ Training Pants are just over our middle price range. They do their job well and feel comfortable against your child’s most sensitive areas. These training pants are a great value.

2. Handcraft Paw Patrol

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
98.3
paw patrol potty training pants design
paw patrol potty training pants materials
Amazon Link
Design
99
Comfort
98
Value
98
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$10.94

Wide elastic waistband

Paw Patrol themed

Made from an absorbent cotton blend material

Easy to clean

Have a front hole for easy access for peeing

Shrink a bit when first washed

When your little Paw Patrol fan sees these training pants they will want to wear them constantly. Made like real undies and decorated in the Paw Patrol theme your child will love wearing these training pants, thus making your potty training journey a little bit easier.

Read more

Design

These little undies make your toddler feel like a big boy. They have the Paw Patrol characters on them to make potty training fun for your guy. Your little man will find all of his favorite characters in this set, sometimes the characters vary.

Comfort

The styling is like a big boy and men’s briefs, but with a thicker material to help absorb very small potty training accidents. They are super easy to pull up and down because of a thick elastic waistband. There is a hole in the front of these training undies so little boys have easy access for number one bathroom trips. You little man will enjoy having undies that look like the undies your big brother and dad wear. These will help you make your little guy excited about potty training.

Value

These training underwear come in under our middle price range. They are a great addition to your little guy’s wardrobe because he will love wearing his favorite TV characters and they are very well made.

3. Gerber Little Boys’ 4 pack

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
97.7
gerber boys potty training pants blue
gerber boys potty training pants 4 pack
Amazon Link
Design
98
Comfort
98
Value
97
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$13.99

Absorbency from front to back

Comfortable waist and leg openings

Cute patterns

Easy on and off

Easy to clean

Sizes run a bit large

Brought to you by the brand families trust, this Little Boys four-pack of training pants are available in several different color options. The pants are just as effective as they are adorable.

Read more

Design

The best thing about these training pants is the super absorbent lining. The lining in these pants is 50% cotton and 50% polyester. This means that small sprinkling accidents will be caught without a big mess. They are not absorbent like a diaper, so a regular pee would not be absorbed by this lining. The absorbent lining covers front to back on these pants.

Comfort

These training pants have a thick fabric waistband for ultimate comfort against your little man’s tummy. The leg holes have the same material so your little one’s legs will be comfortable, too. The training pant has a high rise to mimic a diaper so your little one will have the same areas covered, creating a more comfortable experience. They come in cute patterns with arrows and triangles. These training pants will help keep your little guy feeling like a big boy. They will help to make your potty training journey easier.

Value

These training pants are near the top end of our price ranges. They have a greater absorbance level than some of the other training pants on our list. This makes them a fantastic value for your money.

4. Disney Girls’ Minnie Mouse

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
96.7
minnie mouse potty training pants patterns
Amazon Link
Design
97
Comfort
97
Value
96
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$11.99

Soft cotton material against skin

Polyester lining for extra absorbency

Comfortable leg and waist openings

Cute Minnie Mouse designs

Easy on and off

Fit snuggly

Disney’s Girls’ Minnie Mouse Training Pants is our number four pick. These pants have super cute Minnie Mouse patterns that any little Disney fan will love.

Read more

Design

We really like the absorbent lining in these pants. It is right in the middle, exactly where girls need it the most. The lining is made from polyester material so it has some extra absorbency. This is great if your gal has a few trickles leak out on the way to the toilet.

Comfort

The waste and leg openings are covered with mildly absorbent cotton material. This material makes the training pants very comfortable to pull up and down. The entire pant is made from cotton material, except for the lining, so every part that touches your little lady’s skin is soft and cozy. They are very comfortable and easy to use. The little girl in your life will love using these for potty training.

Value

These are the lowest priced training pants on our list. They are a great value because your little girl will be comfortable and be able to pull them up and down easily.

5. Gerber Baby Girls’ 3 pack

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
95.7
gerber baby potty training pants white
gerber baby potty training pants comfortable
Amazon Link
Design
96
Comfort
96
Value
95
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$6.79

Comfortable

Mildly absorbent

Easy on and off

Easy to personalize

Easy to clean

They will shrink after washing

With Gerber’s 3 pack of plain white training undies, you won’t have to worry about your child fussing over colors or characters.

Read more

Design

While these undies are not designed with any fun colors or character faces, they are perfect to keep in your child’s drawers. The elastic band on the waist and leg openings makes these easy for you to slide on and take off of your child.

Comfort

All of the elastic is covered in cloth, thus maximizing your child’s level of comfort. These training pants are composed of 50% cotton and 50% polyester. The blend of fabrics makes each pair super soft and highly durable.

Value

We find these training pants to be affordably priced. In fact, the pack of three sized in 2T are available for under ten dollars. Not only are you getting several pairs for an affordable price but you can also reuse these constantly. The material is durable and designed to survive countless washes in your washing machine.

6. Skhls Cotton

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
94.7
skhls cotton poty training pants patterns
skhls cotton poty training pants yellow
skhls cotton poty training pants elastic
Amazon Link
Design
95
Comfort
95
Value
94
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$25.37

Easy to clean and to put on/takeoff

Designed with four layers of protection

Composed of super soft fabric

Available in a variety of cute and colorful designs

Runs small

Skhls training pants serve as the perfect link between pull-ups and underwear. The pants allow your child to be wet enough to realize they had an accident but will keep their outer clothes dry.

Read more

Design

Designed with four layers of protection, you won’t have to worry about constantly changing your child’s outfit during potting training. The first and fourth layers are cotton. The second layer is the absorbent pad and the third is the TPU waterproof lining. The elastic bands will reduce any leakage from the sides of the pants. This variety pack of training pants includes eight different colorful designs and patterns. All of the pants are even designed with an adorable animal face on the back to help encourage your child to wear them.

Comfort

The elastic waist sits on your child’s hips gently thus providing a comfortable fit. The thigh bands are also soft and stretchy, thus you don’t have to worry about them constricting your child’s legs. Children will appreciate the soft cotton fabric, especially when transitioning from a diaper.

Value

The band makes these training pants easy for you to put them on or take them off of your child. The material makes cleaning them a stress-free process as they can be thrown in the washing machine. These pants may seem expensive at first glance, but keep in mind that you will be receiving a pack of eight. For a more affordable option, Skhls does offer packs of two.

7. Thomas the Train

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
93.7
thomas the train potty training pants
Amazon Link
Design
94
Comfort
94
Value
93
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$10.92

Comfortable

Easy on and off

Light absorbency

Thomas the Train design

Easy to clean

Sizing is small

Potty train your child with the help of their favorite character. These Thomas The Train Training pants is the perfect combination of practicality and style.

Read more

Design

The absorbent pad is placed perfectly for catching a little boy’s minor accidents. They come in a variety of cute Thomas the Train designs so your little train lover will be happy with his new big boy undies.

Comfort

These Thomas the Train training pants are super comfortable. The parts that touch your little guy are made from 100% cotton. The lightly absorbent liner is made from 100% polyester. The waistband and leg openings are covered in a soft casing to make them comfortable against your little guy's skin. They are very comfortable to wear. They offer light absorbency for very minor accidents.

Value

These training pants are price just above our average price. They offer sufficient potty training protection and a great Thomas the Train design. Your little guy will love these training pants.

8. Peppa Pig Girls’

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
93
peppa pig potty training pants colors
Amazon Link
Design
93
Comfort
93
Value
93
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$11.99

Easy to use

Peppa Pig designs

Adequate potty training absorbency

Comfortable to wear

Easy to clean

The sizing is a bit small

With Daddy Pig, Ganny Pig, Mummy Pig, Peppa, and Zoe being on these training pants your child can sport their favorite Peppa Pig characters while potty training.

Read more

Design

The Peppa Pig designs will make your little lady want to wear these cute training pants. They have a cotton encased waistband and leg openings to offer superior comfort. They are super easy to take on and off. The material that touches your little girl is super soft cotton.
The designs are super cute. These training pants offer comfort and adequate absorbency for potty training. The little girl in your life will love her new big girl panties.

Comfort

The outer shell is composed of 100% combed cotton, thus providing your child with a soft and comfortable feeling against their skin. The 100% polyester liner provides light absorbency for small accidents. The liner and the bands are all encased in cotton to provide your child comfortable fit.

Value

With the three-pack of training pants in size 2T, 3T, and 4T priced at $6.00, this is the most affordable set on our list. Not only are they adorable but they are extremely easy to use and clean. The blend of cotton and polyester will allow you to confidently throw these pants in the washing machine as they are highly durable.

9. Ez Undies Boxers

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
91.7
ez undies potty training pants front
ez undies potty training pants back
Amazon Link
Design
92
Comfort
92
Value
91
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$14.99

Cute designs

Boxer style shorts will not squeeze sensitive areas

Easy on and off

Easy to clean

Comfortable material

They fit loosely in the crotch, so the training pad area sometimes missed small messes

Your son can feel like a big boy during his transition from diapers to underwear with this set of EZ training boxer briefs.

Read more

Design

The front crotch section has added layers of padding in case of minor accidents. These tag free boxers will not make your little guy itchy. These boxer briefs are made from cotton and spandex material so they can maintain comfort and stretch through tons of washes.

They have helpful features that make them easy to use. The designs are super cute! Now your little man can have undies just like Daddy.

Comfort

There is an extra wide waistband with oval-shaped handles that help with easy pull up of these cute little training undies. They are super comfortable for your little guy and won't feel too tight against sensitive areas.

Value

These cute training boxer shorts are at the tip-top of our price list. The convenient sewn in handles in the waistband make them a great choice for your little guy's first training undies. This feature will help your little guy to gain his independence more quickly. Because of this, they are a great value.

10. Losorn Girls’

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
90
losorn potty training pants design
Amazon Link
Design
90
Comfort
90
Value
90
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$2.99

Cute designs

Easy on and off

Easy to clean

4 absorbency layers

Soft material

The designs will peel off after several washes

No visible signs of an accident

Losorn Girls’ Training Pants have gotten the last spot on our list. These girlie training pants will have your little lady excited to wear big girl undies.

Read more

Design

There are four layers of absorbency including a terry liner and waterproof PU material to hold wetness in and mostly away from your little one. They are easy to pull up and down so your little gal will gain bathroom independence earlier. These training pants are designed to keep your car seat and furniture dry in case of an accident. The cute designs will have your lady wanting to wear them everywhere!

Comfort

The waistband is encased in a soft cotton material to make it extra comfortable against your little lady’s belly. The leg openings have a cotton casing as well to offer your little girl superior comfort. The entire outer and inner lining of these training pants is made of cotton so it will feel nice against her skin.

Value

These training pants are right in the middle of our price list. They are a great purchase for beginning potty trainers or for use on long days out or road trips. These training pants are great value for your little girl.

Criteria Used for Evaluation

Design

When coming up with our top ten list we looked at everything from highest rated, quality, how easy these training pants were to clean, ease of use for toddlers, and we looked at different training pants for each gender. We wanted to make sure that our list had a wide variety of styles for any family's needs. We are sure that you will find the perfect pair of training pants to help make your child's potty training experience a little bit easier.

Comfort

Materials for these pants are made from are extremely comfortable. They are breathable which means that the chances of your toddler getting any infections are slim. We also made sure that we specifically chose training pants on our list that were made of soft material so that they don’t irritate sensitive skin. We also looked at selections that had appropriate absorbency levels and placements for girls and boys so that if an accident does happen, the training pants will be there to help keep your little one dry. We’d like to remind parents that training parents will not be as dry as diapers and are not intended to keep your toddler completely dry. This is also a reminder that this is just part of the process when it comes to potty training and that once they feel wetness, they know that they should go to the bathroom. 

Value

Potty training is no easy task. You have to know what signs to look for so you know when your little one is ready. You also have to be prepared for potential setbacks that are no one’s fault. It can be a trying time for you and your toddler. At the same time, you don't want to blow your budget either. We strive to make your life easier here at BornCute. Our top ten list of the best ones will make your search for the best training pants for your little guy or gal super simple. All of these products are reasonably priced so it takes one more worry off of you.

Most Important Criteria (According to our experts opinion)
Sort criterias acording to:
Experts Opinion Editors Opinion Users Opinion By Default
Click on a to rate the most important criteria:
#1
Design
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#2
Comfort
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#3
Value
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
Parents, Did you Know?

Before you start your potty training journey please make sure you and your little one are ready, and be willing to go back to diapers if things get a little rough. Every child will potty train at different times, just like every child will learn to walk and talk at different times. Also, remember that you can always throw a cloth diaper liner into a pair of training pants to offer a little extra absorbency on those difficult days.

Parents, Did you Know?

Keeping your cool during potty training and understanding that accidents will happen is going to make this process easier for everyone. Learning to use the “potty muscles” is like learning to walk. They will develop as your child grows and changes. Remember to know the signs that your little one is ready to potty train. There is no hard and fast rule for age. You need to look out for extended time between dirty diapers, waking up dry in the morning and having dry naps before you attempt potty training.

Parents, Did you Know?

When driving: Like previously stated you should know all of the kid-friendly bathrooms along your regular driving routes. If you are driving in your car and your little one needs to go potty you may have to pull over to the side of the road. Parents have many ways of handling this situation. The best advice I have gotten it to keep a small training potty in your car and some cleaning wipes. You can place the training potty on the side of the road and let your little one go potty or park and put the potty in the car so they can take care of business.  Make sure you empty the potty and clean it out after each use. You can also stop in at a public bathroom and use the small potty in the bathroom if there is not one available. This makes cleanup much easier. You might also be one of the lucky parents that have a child-sized potty in a public bathroom along with your regular driving routes if this is the case then, by all means, use the toddler toilet!

Parents, Did you Know?

While in a store or mall: Most family-friendly stores now have what they call a family bathroom. These bathrooms usually come equipped with a toddler sized toilet and sink to make going potty easier for little ones. If this is not the case then you will have to do some wrangling. If you have a little girl you can have them sit on the edge of the seat and hold them securely around their chest while they go potty. If you have little boy things can become a bit more complicated. Hopefully, you will be able to have them sit down and hold them around their chest securely. You will have to depend on your little guy to ensure that his pee makes it into the potty. If your guy is one who refuses to sit then you can crouch down and have them stand on your leg facing the toilet and pray their aim is true.

Other Factors to Consider

Physical Development

Despite stereotypes that are out in the world today children are allowed to love whatever color and clothing that they love no matter the gender specification. When it comes to potty training however this is completely different. On our list above we have 5 items for boys and 5 items for girls. In no way is this to be gender-selective with styles and designs, however, parents are advised to buy the training pants specifically for the gender of their child. This is simply because males and females have different anatomy. Boys end up needing more absorbent padding near the front of their training pants whereas girls need more near the middle. This is just a matter of a natural fact of life. Choosing a training pant specifically to the gender of your child will make it so that your child is more comfortable during this time.

Durability

Every item on our top ten list that we chose is durable and long lasting. These training pants will all last through many washes so that parents won’t have to go out and repeatedly buy new ones every time. Most of the items on our list even have double reinforced stitching and thicker bands around the waist and legs. This makes it so that it helps last through washes and any accidents that may occur.

Ease of Use

Another thing that we considered when coming up with our list is that we wanted to make sure each of these items was easy for your toddler to be able to pull these up and down all by themselves. We know that your little one has probably started gaining some independent antics so it’s important to them and their self-esteem that they do it by themselves. All of these items on our list have ticker waistbands meaning that this specific waistband will make it easier for little hands.

Frequently Asked Questions

q: How do I know when to start potty training?

a:

There are many resources online that can help you determine when to start potty training. You should not start the process until 18 months to three years old. Please remember that boys can sometimes take longer to be ready to train than girls. Basically, you need to know your child. When their dirty diapers are starting to become routine and they are waking from naps and bedtime with dry diapers it might be time to start exploring potty training. Make sure that your child is comfortable sitting for extended periods of time, they will be waiting on the potty a lot at first. You also need to ensure that your child can pull their own pants up and down. If you have a little girl make sure they can at least practice wiping. If you have a little boy make sure they can at least practice cleaning up any dribbles. Also, make sure that your child can make an attempt at washing their hands after using the potty. Once your little one can do these things it is time to start the potty training process.

q: How do you potty train a child?

a:

There are as many methods to potty train as there are children. The most common way we found is to have a child-sized potty available and a step stool in the bathroom. Have waterproof books or other easy to clean toys near the potty so your little one has something to do while waiting. Also, have a small healthy treat available to give your little one when they are successful. This could be a food item, a special dance, or a special toy. Make it fun and talk your child through the process each time until they are doing it themselves. Don’t be discouraged by setbacks, they will happen.

q: Why should I use fabric training pants and not disposable ones?

a:

The use of disposable training pants can delay potty training. Disposable pants tend to have greater absorbance leaving your child feeling more comfortable after an accident. They also feel more like diapers. Cloth training pants have less absorbency and will allow your child to feel the mess. This will allow them to learn their bodily cues faster. They will learn what it feels like just before they are wet or soiled. When they know these feelings they can then work on making it to the potty on time. This is a key point of potty training and the reason that fabric pants are better.

q: Why do I need to buy potty training pants by gender?

a:

Boys and girls have different anatomy. Because of the different anatomy, their pee goes in different directions when they urinate. Girl’s will have a pool of urine in the middle of their undies, while boys will have a pool nearer to the front. This is why it is very important to have gender-specific training pants so that your child has the proper absorbency levels where it is needed.

q: How should I react when my child has an accident?

a:

Keep Calm and Carry On as the famous saying goes. Accidents are a normal part of potty training. The first step is to not shame your child when they have an accident. Accidents are uncomfortable and your child will not like the feeling of having soiled themselves. Make sure that you reassure them that accidents are perfectly normal. Make sure that you have an accident kit with you wherever you go with a potty training child.

q: What should go into my potty training accident kit?

a:

You should have a spare change of clothing including clean training pants, socks, and shoes. Depending on the season and your location you may need to include a few layers in case your little one has an accident that soaks their parka. You will also need to have wipes and a bag to hold soiled clothing. You might also want to include a healthy treat for those times that your little one makes it to the potty while you are out and about.

q: What do I do when I am out with my child and they need to go potty?

a:

The answer to this question is not easy. It depends on where you happen to be with your child.

Sources

  1. Karin A. Bilich, Quiz: Is It Time to Start Potty Training?, Online Article
  2. BabyCenter Staff, The ABCs of potty training, Online Article
  3. Mayo Clinic Staff, Potty training: How to get the job done, Online Article
  4. Brittany Tackett, 4 Reasons to Potty Train with Underwear, Online Article