to top 10 table

10 Best Baby Lotions Reviewed & Rated in 2019

last updated Feb 25, 2019

It should be no surprise to you that babies have far more sensitive skin than adults. We also are willing to bet that you know how cluttered the market is with lotions that claim to be safe for babies. After diligent research, we created a list of the ten best baby lotions to help you be confident in the product you are applying to your child’s skin. Our list is composed of variety brands and sizes of bottles, but all have been specifically formulated for your child’s delicate skin. It’s time to say goodbye to your child’s dry itchy skin!

In a Hurry? The test winner after 18 hrs of research

icon
Puracy Organic Lavender
95/100 our score
Safety
95
Protection
95
Comfort
95
Effectiveness
95
Puracy Organic Lavender
Why is it better?

Lavender and grapefruit essential oils aid in hydration

Gentle enough for any age

Developed by doctors

Lightweight

Plant-based formula

In a Hurry? Editors choice:
Puracy Organic Lavender
Test Winner: Puracy Organic Lavender
Amazon Link
Researched Sources
16
Researched Sources
Hours Researching
18
Hours Researching
Products Evaluated
16
Products Evaluated
Last Updated:
Avatar
By Cassie Sheets:

We recently updated this list by removing any products that were out of stock and replaced them with products that are currently available. Furthermore, we updated the format to make it more user friendly. With the lotions on our list your child’s skin will be feeling hydrated, nourished, and silky smooth in no time.

Sorting Options
Safety Protection Comfort Effectiveness Approved by Pediatricians By Default
Rank
PictureProduct
Name
Rating
Shops
#1
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
95
Safety
95%
Protection
95%
Comfort
95%
Effectiveness
95%
Price Comparison Last Updated (16.07.19)
Amazon Link
$13.99
#2
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
94
Safety
95%
Protection
95%
Comfort
90%
Effectiveness
95%
Approved by Pediatricians
95%
Price Comparison Last Updated (16.07.19)
Amazon Link
$11.06
#3
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
90.5
Safety
95%
Protection
90%
Comfort
92%
Effectiveness
85%
Price Comparison Last Updated (16.07.19)
Amazon Link
$8.99
#4
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
90.5
Safety
95%
Protection
90%
Comfort
92%
Effectiveness
85%
Price Comparison Last Updated (16.07.19)
Amazon Link
$18.00
#5
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
88
Safety
95%
Protection
75%
Comfort
92%
Effectiveness
90%
Price Comparison Last Updated (16.07.19)
Amazon Link
$10.99
#6
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
87
Safety
95%
Protection
98%
Comfort
75%
Effectiveness
80%
Price Comparison Last Updated (16.07.19)
Amazon Link
$12.79
#7
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
86.8
Safety
97%
Protection
75%
Comfort
85%
Effectiveness
90%
Price Comparison Last Updated (16.07.19)
Amazon Link
$7.99
#8
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
85
Safety
100%
Protection
80%
Comfort
80%
Effectiveness
80%
Price Comparison Last Updated (16.07.19)
Amazon Link
$8.97
#9
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
81.3
Safety
90%
Protection
80%
Comfort
70%
Effectiveness
85%
Price Comparison Last Updated (16.07.19)
Amazon Link
$17.92
#10
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
78.8
Safety
95%
Protection
65%
Comfort
80%
Effectiveness
75%
Price Comparison Last Updated (16.07.19)
Amazon Link
$12.91
In Depth Review Top 10
  • Puracy Organic Lavender
  • Eucerin Baby
  • Cetaphil Organic Calendula
  • Noodle & Boo
  • Earth Mama Calming Lavender
  • Aquaphor Ointment Advanced
  • Live Clean Gentle Moisture
  • Aveeno Daily Moisture
  • Aveeno Therapy Nighttime
  • CeraVe Essential Ceramides
Table of contents
  • Criteria Used for Evaluation
  • Other Factors to Consider
  • Frequently Asked Questions
  • Sources

10 Best Baby Lotions

1. Puracy Organic Lavender

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
95
Puracy Organic Lavender
Amazon Link
Safety
95
Protection
95
Comfort
95
Effectiveness
95
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$13.99

Lavender and grapefruit essential oils aid in hydration

Gentle enough for any age

Developed by doctors

Lightweight

Plant-based formula

The scent is somewhat medicinal and slightly citrusy

This is one of the most all-natural products on our list and is great for any age. It's incredibly gentle and contains ingredients that are good for just about any skin type and any baby ailment.

Read more

Safety
Developed by doctors, this lotion has been formulated to safely treat your child's dry skin. The all natural plant based ingredients will not irritate your child's skin. Furthermore, the formula is non-toxic hypoallergenic and cruetly-free. Its biodegradeable bottle, makes it safe for the environment as well.

Protection
Once the lotion is applied it provides deep hydration for up to 24 hours, thus leaving your child's skin protected all day.

Comfort
The lotion goes on smoothly and is gentle, thus leaving your little one feeling comfortable once it is applied. It is lightweight and will not leave a greasy residue.

Effectiveness
The blend of lavender and grapefruit essential oils will combat dry skin by nourishing and hydrating your child's skin. You will immediately feel that your child's skin is softer and smoother.

2. Eucerin Baby

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
94
Eucerin Baby
Amazon Link
Safety
95
Protection
95
Comfort
90
Effectiveness
95
Approved by Pediatricians
95
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$11.06

Designed with a pump top

Fragrance free

Hydrates, softens, and protects sensitive skin

Will not leave a greasy residue

Some reviewers would like the bottle to come in multiple sizes

Your baby’s dry skin is no match for the Eucerin baby lotion.

Read more

Safety
Tested and recommended by both dermatologists and pediatricians, you can be confident that this lotion is safe for your baby.

Protection
With natural shea butter in the formula, your child's skin will be protected from the elements.

Comfort
It is gentle enough for you to apply to your baby daily and will not leave a greasy residue on their skin. It is fragrance-free, thus you don’t have to worry about any overpowering perfume smells.

Effectiveness
Along with the shea butter, the pro-vitamin B5 will nourish and hydrate your child's skin. The ingredients will work together to soften and smooth any dry skin your little one is experiencing.

3. Cetaphil Organic Calendula

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
90.5
Cetaphil Organic Calendula
Amazon Link
Safety
95
Protection
90
Comfort
92
Effectiveness
85
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$8.99

Organic calendula for soothing

Contains essential oils for hydration

Extremely gentle formula

Hypoallergenic

Contains no additives

The scent can be a bit overwhelming

Gentle enough for babies, strong enough for adults is what many think when it comes to Cetaphil. This baby lotion was formulated with the gentle ingredients they're known for to provide one soothing product.

Read more

Safety
It does pack a punch when it comes to natural helpful ingredients so if your baby is sensitive, that's something to be aware of. However, the use of organic calendula, almond and sunflower oils help to soothe and hydrate, working in tandem to do so.

Protection
The trio of hydrating ingredients in this formula adds a variation in traditional baby lotion ingredients. Each one serves a purpose but together they're nearly unbeatable when it comes to protecting to your child from a flare up of dry skin.

Comfort
Cetaphil is known for creating facial cleansers that are gentle enough for use on kids so it came as no surprise to us that their baby products are top-notch. This lotion is gentle and can be used throughout the day or at night, causing no breakouts or irritation.

Effectiveness
It's hypoallergenic and claims to make skin appear firmer, brighter, and more healthy overall.

4. Noodle & Boo

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
90.5
Noodle & Boo
Amazon Link
Safety
95
Protection
90
Comfort
92
Effectiveness
85
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$18.00

A small amount goes a long way

Moisturizes, hydrates, and protects skin

Free of Toxins

Dermatologist tested

Some reviewers wish the pump was more durable

Your baby’s skin will soft and silky with the Noodle & Boo moisturizing lotion.

Read more

Safety
Made in the USA, this lotion is hypoallergenic and has been tested by dermatologists. The formula is free of toxins and designed specifically for your child’s sensitive skin.

Protection
Loaded with vitamins E and C, it will not only moisturize but also protect your child’s delicate skin. The lotion will arm your child’s skin with antioxidants and shield them from harsh environmental elements.

Comfort
This lotion is light and goes on smoothly, thus a small amount will go a long way. Furthermore, it will absorb into your child’s skin quickly and will not leave a greasy feeling. The fresh baby scent is subtle and will not irritate you or your baby.

Effectiveness
While the vitamins moisturize and protect your child's skin, the almond oil will be hydrating it. The combination of ingredients will leave your child feeling soft. Designed with a pump top, you can easily grab a dab of lotion if you only have one hand free.

5. Earth Mama Calming Lavender

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
88
Earth Mama Calming Lavender
Amazon Link
Safety
95
Protection
75
Comfort
92
Effectiveness
90
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$10.99

Contains lavender which is a soothing aromatic scent

Calendula helps to calm irritation

Organic ingredients

Dermatologist-tested

Great for common skin ailments

The scent can be strong

This all-natural option is perfect for newborns because it contains only the best. It's great for minor discomfort due to typical newborn dry skin without further adding to irritation.

Read more

Safety
Earth Mama is a brand that many haven't heard of but if you haven't tried it yet, you should. This lotion has two secret ingredients that we absolutely love to see in products for babies: Lavender and calendula. This lotion has been tested and certified which is why we feel great about recommending it to parents. It's not likely to cause irritation and will help calm angry skin. All-natural lotions are great but organic ingredients are even better.

Protection
Lavender is naturally soothing and provides aromatic benefits that relax and calm the mind. Calendula is a derivative of marigold and helps to soothe the skin and reduce irritation with its calming properties. When brought together, these two sing a chorus of naturally-calming benefits that are just perfect for babies of any age.

Comfort
Earth Mama is all-natural and contains organic herbs in order to provide the most gentle formula possible.

Effectiveness
Essential oils are the key to what makes this lotion so effective. It's great for us in babies who have sensitive skin or common skin irritations because it will calm and soothe them at bedtime and throughout the day.

6. Aquaphor Ointment Advanced

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
87
Aquaphor Ointment Advanced
Amazon Link
Safety
95
Protection
98
Comfort
75
Effectiveness
80
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$12.79

Promotes healing

Can be used for diaper and drool rash

A little goes a long way

Forms a protective barrier

Hydrating

It can feel heavy and is easily overused

Aquaphor has ingredients that promote natural healing and are great when used for diaper and drool rash. It's gentle and forms a protective barrier over your baby's skin that they genuinely need.

Read more

Safety
Aquaphor has an entire line of baby-safe products, all just as reputable as this healing ointment. It's similar to Neosporin in texture but is much more gentle for use with newborns.

Protection
The ointment formula serves as a protective, yet hydrating, layer in order to lock in moisture and promote healing to the skin underneath.

Comfort
This healing ointment has been created especially for babies suffering from diaper or drool rash since it helps to keep irritation from bothering them while their skin heals. Rashes can cause rough patches, itches, and often a burning feeling until it heals and Aquaphor helps to combat all three. It's gentle enough for babies and is very effective when applied in a light layer.

Effectiveness
The petroleum in this ointment is what helps to protect raw skin and provide a serious hit of hydration through the addition of glycerin. Additionally, Panthenol is a vitamin B derivative that helps to encourage healing while conditioning the skin underneath.

7. Live Clean Gentle Moisture

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
86.8
Live Clean Gentle Moisture
Amazon Link
Safety
97
Protection
75
Comfort
85
Effectiveness
90
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$7.99

Non-greasy formula

Can be used during the day or at night

Contains chamomile and lavender for soothing aromas

Aloe vera provides much-needed moisture

All-natural formula

You don't get very much product

They aren't kidding when they say "Live Clean". This lotion puts many others to shame as far as an all-natural formula goes, and we're all for it.

Read more

Safety
Similar to Burt's Bees, Live Clean boasts a natural ingredient rate of 97% which is significant when compared to many baby products out there. They pride themselves on their natural and safe products and this lotion is no exception. It's vegan and contains mostly plant-based products such as chamomile, lavender, and aloe vera.

Protection
When it comes to hydration, The combination of Chamomile, Lavender, and aloe vera can't be beaten. The deep hydration provided by these ingredients will protect your child's skin no matter the season.

Comfort
This formal is anything but greasy and is easily absorbed into the skin, leaving behind hydrated, soft skin for your baby. The scent does remain in order to provide aromatic relief and a sense of comfort as the lotion does its job to soften skin.

Effectiveness
Chamomile is a natural when it comes to herbs that help to soothe and the scent alone is comforting to babies. Lavender also has strong aromatic properties and helps to eliminate stress and melt away anxieties. Aloe vera, of course, is a global leader as far as moisturizing plants go and we were happy to find it in this product.

8. Aveeno Daily Moisture

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
85
Aveeno Daily Moisture
Amazon Link
Safety
100
Protection
80
Comfort
80
Effectiveness
80
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$8.97

Contains no harsh chemicals or artificial ingredients

Oatmeal helps to moisturize and heal

Forms a protective barrier

Lasts a full 24-hours

Absorbed into the skin quickly

There are some faulty problems with the lotion bottle and dispenser

Often the first product parents think of when it comes to gentle lotions, Aveeno definitely has a reputation. With added oatmeal, this lotion promotes healing as well as hydration.

Read more

Safety
This lotion is paraben-free, hypoallergenic, free of phthalates, dyes, fragrances, and alcohol. This leaves nothing but the essential ingredients that provide the moisture your baby seeks.

Protection
Dimethicone helps to combat dryness and encourages a protective barrier on your baby's skin to prevent further redness and irritation. It has long-lasting power and will help your baby feel hydrated for a full 24-hours.

Comfort
When it comes to lotions that are extremely gentle on the skin, Aveeno is unparalleled in quality. They were one of the first and are now proud to represent a line of products for babies as well. Many adult Aveeno products are even gentle enough to use on kids which is why they're a brand that we turn to many times.

Effectiveness
This formula is designed for babies and contains oatmeal for extra hydration benefits, but it also provides a soothing effect when applied. Similar to an oatmeal bath, this lotion helps to calm skin and reduce irritation.

9. Aveeno Therapy Nighttime

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
81.3
Aveeno Therapy Nighttime
Amazon Link
Safety
90
Protection
80
Comfort
70
Effectiveness
85
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$17.92

Contains Dimethicone and oatmeal for protection and healing

Designed specifically for night time

Helps soothe babies to sleep

Heavy enough to form a protective barrier

Encourages healing while your baby sleeps

Is a bit heavy for daytime use

For strictly nighttime use, Aveeno comes in the clutch again to provide you with an option that will provide your baby with relief all night long. While they're asleep, this balm will help to heal raw skin that comes from eczema.

Read more

Safety
You might be thinking that you're seeing double but we actually do have two Aveeno products on this list. This balm is used at night to alleviate irritation that comes from eczema, something that many babies suffer from. This can worsen depending on the weather and if untreated can often be uncomfortable and itchy. Aveeno incorporates the use of oatmeal and Dimethicone just like their baby lotion in order to relieve minor irritation and help soothe your baby so that they can fall asleep. Formulated specifically for babies it will not irritate their sensitive skin.

Protection
The balm texture acts as a protective barrier in order to relieve that burning sensation and allow the skin underneath to heal.

Comfort
While other lotions are intended for all-day use, this balm is formulated for use at night for a very specific reason. Babies are already fussy when it comes time to be put down but with a little help from this night time balm, they might just be soothed enough to sleep.

Effectiveness
The colloidal oatmeal will prevent dry skin and treat eczema by locking in moisture.

10. CeraVe Essential Ceramides

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
78.8
CeraVe Essential Ceramides
Amazon Link
Safety
95
Protection
65
Comfort
80
Effectiveness
75
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$12.91

Promotes healing

Provides a necessary protective barrier

Certified by the National Eczema Association

Created by Dermatologists

Contains ceramides and necessary vitamins

It is a very light formula and might need reapplying

CeraVe isn't just a leader in global skincare, they also produce quality baby products such as this lotion. Its naturally moisturizing effects are what helps it get such a good reputation, so we decided to see what all the fuss was about and were pleasantly surprised.

Read more

Safety
You know CeraVe for being a leader in skincare, but did you know that they have a line for baby care as well? This baby lotion contains everything your baby needs in order to have smooth, healthy-looking skin. It has been approved by the National Eczema Association as an appropriate at-home form of relief from the dry skin condition, making it stand out quite a bit. Not to mention, dermatologists helped develop this lotion in order to have a solid option for the at-home treatment of dry skin in babies.

Protection
CeraVe's formula contains ceramides and vitamins that not only hydrate but form that protective barrier that we look for in order to maintain moisture and prevent further irritation.

Comfort
The use of ceramides provides the protection that skin needs in order to heal. As your child's skin begins to heal they will feel relief and a higher level of comfort.

Effectiveness
Once you learn about the process of skin healing and how skin cells work, it becomes easy to understand why a protective barrier is necessary. It's imperative for the skin to maintain a constant level of hydration but it's equally important for it to be protected while it regenerates as well.

Criteria Used for Evaluation

Safety

you always want to ensure that you’re using a product that’s recommended safe and doesn’t contain anything that could be harmful to them. Since babies are still apt to absorb whatever is put on their skin, it becomes that much more imperative that everything you use is natural. We’ve provided products for a variety of baby stages, from newborn all the way up to toddlerhood.

Protection

When researching for this guide, we wanted to include lotions that not only hydrate and moisturize your child's skin but also protect it. Especially when you're taking your baby on a day of running errands. Your child's skin will react to environmental elements more quickly than yours will. Purchasing a lotion that will also provide protection will reduce the chance of your child developing dry skin or a rash.

Comfort

You might notice that your baby has some dry skin issues and you also might think it’s unusual since they just came into this world. On the contrary, it’s quite normal for your baby to be experiencing dry skin! It’s a condition that often clears up on its own and doesn’t necessarily require and additional treatment, but that doesn’t mean your newborn can’t use lotion. If you notice dry spots on their ankles or arms, a bit of lotion or ointment can be lightly applied in order to help their skin heal and to reduce irritation. Keep in mind that it is normal and doesn’t need heavy treatment as eczema would. At this age, their skin is still adjusting to the outside world and needs a little bit of time, but lotion can help to ease the process a bit. It’s best to avoid lotions and creams that have heavy scents in this case, and we’ve cleared all of that up in the summaries of each product.

Effectiveness

We sought out only products that would address the issue of that dry newborn skin that we briefly mentioned. Sometimes, this can turn into a form of eczema which is why all of our products here are safe for use on irritated skin. You should always talk to your doctor before considering an at-home treatment, but all of these products have been certified efficient for the temporary relief of dry skin. They do vary, with some containing things such as calendula, aloe vera, lavender, etc. Each one of these essential oils and essences helps to provide a benefit, whether it’s through soothing the skin or maintaining a natural balance of hydration within the skin. Alternately, some of these essential oils function as aromatics in order to soothe babies via their sense of smell as well. While they’re taking in the delightfully calming scent of lavender, the lotion you’ve just applied is doing its job in protecting, hydrating, and renewing the skin underneath.

Most Important Criteria (According to our experts opinion)
Sort criterias acording to:
Experts Opinion Editors Opinion Users Opinion By Default
Click on a to rate the most important criteria:
#1
Safety
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#2
Comfort
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#3
Protection
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#4
Effectiveness
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
Parents Did you Know

It is not necessary to give your newborn a bath every single day. Instead, start by bathing them three times a week as bathing them too much can dry out their skin.

Parents Did You Know

Keeping your baby hydrated will also help keep their skin nourished.

Other Factors to Consider

Ease of Use

As far as how often to provide them with extra moisturization, experts recommend that you apply lotion at least once a day for babies with normal skin. It’s best to choose all-natural lotions with no added scents; many of these options are what our list is comprised of. With these, you can be a little more liberally and apply them several times throughout the day, all over. You can even use them to aid in diaper rash relief and irritation that can come from babies who are just learning to crawl — Floors are tough on yourtiny baby's arms and elbows!

Approved by Pediatricians

We also had to find products that were highly approved and recommended by parents and/or doctors, which is what really helped us to narrow down our list. It was through this that we found a solid ten products that were mostly all-natural, and if they weren’t, came highly recommended by those who created or used them. Taking chances isn’t something that we like to do here at Borncute which is why we don’t take stock in any products that haven’t been baby, parent, and professionally approved. Additionally, we’ve included several products that have a long-standing reputation as well because there is a reason for that. We have no problem supporting those brands as long as they continue to create products that we can take pride in as well and feel comfortable recommending to parents.

Frequently Asked Questions

q: How old does my newborn need to be before I use lotion on them?

a:

This will vary based on who you talk to. As always, it’s best to speak with your pediatrician in order to figure out what’s best for your baby. After a few months, you might notice some dry skin, and if you decide lotion is necessary, it’s best to use as natural a product as possible with no fragrance. Once a couple months go by, you should be able to continue using lotion without worrying too much about your baby absorbing its ingredients, especially if you continue with an all-natural product.

q: Will any of these further irritate eczema?

a:

They shouldn’t, no. All of these products have been tested and actually include ingredients that are known to lessen the irritation of common skin conditions and promote healing.

q: What happens if I notice irritation on my baby’s skin?

a:

You should stop using the product immediately and allow your baby’s skin to clear up. In the meantime, you should consult with your pediatrician on what could have irritated your baby’s skin, because it could mean an allergy or sensitivity. They also might be able to recommend a product to use in the meantime that’s gentler.

q: How long can I use lotion on my baby?

a:

Once they’re a few months old, you can use lotions daily. Just be sure not to overdo it, because excess oil can build up and lead to breakouts or even further irritation. Always use a light layer and ensure that the lotion is absorbed into the skin properly — Less is more.

q: Will these become greasy if used underneath my baby’s clothing?

a:

If you apply a light layer, you shouldn’t notice any significantly greasy or oily feeling. Ensure that all the lotion has been absorbed first before dressing your baby, otherwise, it could become somewhat uncomfortable for them. The only exception is Aquaphor which is an ointment and will remain as a thin layer on top of the skin.

q: Can all of these be used on the face?

a:

We wouldn’t recommend using any lotions, ointments, or creams on your baby’s face before first speaking to your pediatrician. The Burt’s Bees Baby lotion can be applied to the face, but we’d avoid doing this on a newborn. Each product has their own purpose and it’s best to check with a professional before involving anything on the face.

Sources

  1. Colleen De Bellefonds, 7 Tips For Baby Skin Care, informative article
  2. Alicia Schulz, When can you put lotion on a baby, Blog
  3. Katherine McMackin-Scoleri , Choosing a safe baby moisturizer , blog
  4. Ruth Reed , Taking care of your baby after the first few weeks , informative article