to top 10 table

10 Best Baby Grooming Kits Reviewed in 2020

last updated Sep 08, 2019

Parents know how hard it is taking care of a baby – new parents especially know how overwhelming this can be because it can feel like your whole world has been turned upside down and now you have this new little bundle of responsibility to take care of. Not only do you have to worry about your own needs, but you have to think of your little ones as well. Taking care of your babies grooming habits are extremely important for a little one. Sometimes as parents we know how the little things can be easy to forget and we forget the importance of brushing your babies' hair, trimming their feet and fingernails and so on. On our top ten list, you will find the top ten grooming kits for your little ones in today’s market. We’re sure you will find something suitable for all your baby’s grooming needs!

In a Hurry? The test winner after 35 hrs of research

icon
Summer Infant Complete
95.8/100 our score
Accessories
95
Portability
96
Ease of Use
95
Value
97
Summer Infant Complete
Why is it better?

Has a carrying case

Teething assistance items

Hair and nail care items

Medicine dosing items

Emergency information card

In a Hurry? Editors choice:
Summer Infant Complete
Test Winner: Summer Infant Complete
Amazon Link
Researched Sources
23
Researched Sources
Hours Researching
35
Hours Researching
Products Evaluated
15
Products Evaluated
Last Updated:
Jessica Mentzer
By Jessica Mentzer:

Grooming that bundle of joy in your life can be a bit of a challenge. So, the products have been created and designed to make that job easier. We have included a list of the best grooming kits for a baby on this list. The list includes items that are the best on the market and recently the list was updated. In the update, two items were replaced.

Sorting Options
Accessories Portability Ease of Use Value By Default
Rank
PictureProduct
Name
Rating
Shops
#1
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
95.8
Accessories
95 %
Portability
96 %
Ease of Use
95 %
Value
97 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (23.09.20)
Amazon Link
$22.99
#2
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
95
Accessories
95 %
Portability
95 %
Ease of Use
94 %
Value
96 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (23.09.20)
Amazon Link
$19.99
#3
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
94
Accessories
94 %
Portability
94 %
Ease of Use
95 %
Value
93 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (23.09.20)
Amazon Link
#4
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
93.8
Accessories
93 %
Portability
93 %
Ease of Use
95 %
Value
94 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (23.09.20)
Amazon Link
$12.99
#5
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
92.8
Accessories
94 %
Portability
93 %
Ease of Use
92 %
Value
92 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (23.09.20)
Amazon Link
#6
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
91.8
Accessories
92 %
Portability
91 %
Ease of Use
91 %
Value
93 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (23.09.20)
Amazon Link
$4.29
#7
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
90
Accessories
90 %
Portability
91 %
Ease of Use
90 %
Value
89 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (23.09.20)
Amazon Link
$49.90
#8
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
89.8
Accessories
91 %
Portability
89 %
Ease of Use
90 %
Value
89 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (23.09.20)
Amazon Link
$16.33
#9
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
88.3
Accessories
89 %
Portability
88 %
Ease of Use
87 %
Value
89 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (23.09.20)
Amazon Link
#10
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
85.8
Accessories
87 %
Portability
86 %
Ease of Use
85 %
Value
85 %
Price Comparison Last Updated (23.09.20)
Amazon Link

10 Best Baby Grooming Kits Reviewed

1. Summer Infant Complete

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
95.8
summer infant complete baby grooming kit blue
summer infant complete baby grooming kit pink
Amazon Link
Accessories
95
Portability
96
Ease of Use
95
Value
97
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$22.99

Has a carrying case

Teething assistance items

Hair and nail care items

Medicine dosing items

Emergency information card

Several of the items are not high quality

The Summer Infant Complete Care Nursery Kit is our number one pick. This baby grooming kit comes with everything you need to keep your baby groomed and well.

Read more

Accessories

It has hair and nail care items that will keep your little one looking nice. It also includes much needed medical items to help keep your baby feeling well.

Portability

This grooming kit comes in a convenient bag to hold everything in one place. It includes a hairbrush, a comb, emery boards, and nail clippers to keep baby’s hair and nails nice and neat. There are medical items such as a nasal aspirator, medicine syringe, pacifier medicine dispenser, a forehead thermometer, and a digital thermometer.

Ease of Use

This is not just a medical and grooming kit. It also has items to help with teething. There is a teether, a finger toothbrush, and a gum massager. There is also an emergency information card included that keeps all of your important info in one place.

Value

The price for this grooming kit is just below our average price. It is an excellent value because you get a lot of very helpful baby items in addition to the baby grooming basics.

2. The First Years American Red Cross

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
95
the first years american red cross baby grooming kit
the first years american red cross baby grooming kit comb
Amazon Link
Accessories
95
Portability
95
Ease of Use
94
Value
96
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$19.99

Baby Rattle

Red Cross seal

Spoon and dropper medicine dispenser

Nail scissors

Carrying case

Low-quality items

The First Years-American Red Cross Deluxe Baby Healthcare and Grooming Kit is our number two pick. This grooming kit is also a healthcare kit.

Read more

Accessories

It has the Red Cross name so you know the healthcare items are quality. It includes items for your baby’s hair, nails, and teeth. It is a great choice for all-around baby care.

Portability

This kit comes in a carrying case and includes many useful baby items. It has two medicine dispensers, one is a dropper and the other is a spoon style dispenser. The nail clippers are high quality and this kit has emery boards to file off the sharp edges. This is a great kit for baby grooming.

Ease of Use

This kit includes a rattle for your little one to hold. This rattle is a great distraction for when you are clipping tiny nails or trying to give medicine. The nail scissors are a great addition to this kit, many times it is easier to cut nails with scissors when your baby is small.

Value

The cost of this grooming kit is right in the middle of our price point. It is a great value because it comes with grooming and medical items. This is a great value because you get all of the essentials in a nice little carrying case.

3. Royal Infant Wooden Brush Set

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
94
royal infant wooden baby brush set
royal infant wooden baby brush set box
Amazon Link
Accessories
94
Portability
94
Ease of Use
95
Value
93
best offer for today
Amazon Link

Static-free

Handcrafted

Three brush set

Made from natural goat hair

Irritant-free

The brush sheds

Not good for thick hair

The Royal Infant Wooden Baby Brush Set is our number three pick. This set comes with three brushes. Each brush has a specific purpose for your baby’s hair care.

Read more

Accessories

Each set is handcrafted from beech wood. The set also includes a blue plastic brush specifically to assist with cradle cap. This brush can be used to gently remove cradle cap scales. This is truly a comprehensive brush set.

Portability

The brush set does not come with a carrying case.

Ease of Use

The bristles of this brush are made from goat hair. The goat hair is irritant free and completely natural. The wooden brush is specifically for massage. This brush is great to help relax your little one with a gentle head massage. This baby brush set is made with fine hair and sensitive scalps in mind.

Value

The cost for this set is below our median price. It is a great value for such high-quality brushes. You will be pleased with the quality and usefulness of these brushes. It is eco-friendly and the company donates a portion of each sale to the Make A Wish Foundation.

4. Safety 1st Deluxe 25-Piece

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
93.8
safety 1st deluxe 25-piece baby grooming kit
safety 1st deluxe 25-piece baby grooming kit nail trimmer
safety 1st deluxe 25-piece baby grooming kit front
safety 1st deluxe 25-piece baby grooming kit
Amazon Link
Accessories
93
Portability
93
Ease of Use
95
Value
94
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$12.99

Grooming Kit includes two piece nail trimming supplies

Nail trimmers feature patented peeking window for added safety

Blades on clippers overlap for smooth and silent cutting

Nail file features contoured shape for easy fining

Great for newborns to toddlers

Nail clipper blades are not sharp

Larger nail clippers sizes are harder for newborn nails

When it comes to trimming your little one's nails it can be a real challenge. Not only is it difficult to get them to hold still, but often the tools that you are using are oddly sharpened which makes it even more difficult to get just the right angle. This nail trimming kit is a super clipper kit. It is one of the most innovative designs on the market and provides a design that makes the tools much easier to use.

Read more

Accessories

Included in the kit you will find a set of nail trimmers that have been designed with a spyhole in the front of the clippers right near where the little one nail enters the clipping end. This allows you to be able to safely view the nail making sure that you are only getting the nail section of the finger. Plus the clippers also have a curved nail clipping feature. This feature is great for getting a smooth cut and then the overlapping blades allow for a safer cut.

Portability

The nail grooming kit includes two pieces, nail clippers, and a nail file. Each of the two items is easy to carry along anywhere that you need. The items can easily be placed down in a diaper bag or even in a small overnight or travel suitcase for longer trips. When carrying the items along they are small in size and make grooming on the go easy for any caregiver.

Ease of Use

Grooming your little ones nails can be tricky. This kit has special features that give you an advantage when completing the task. The nail trimmers have the easy to peak spy window and the blades that overlap to make for a smooth and safe cut. These features are great for the clippers work with the effort that is minimal with the best results. The file for the nails has a contour to it that allows you to be able to get a smooth nail when the clipping has been completed.

Value

Snipper Clipper nails trimming and grooming kit is a great value. The price includes two items that make trimming your little one's nails easier and safer. Value is determined by the price and the quality of items that you receive for the task. This set is a value that you will be glad that you took advantage of.

5. gLEE Baby 32 Pieces

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
92.8
gLEE baby 32 pieces baby grooming kit
gLEE baby 32 pieces baby grooming kit clipper
Amazon Link
Accessories
94
Portability
93
Ease of Use
92
Value
92
best offer for today
Amazon Link

Actual nail file

Washable nasal aspirator

High-quality rattle

Convenient carrying case with storage areas

Instruction booklet

Sometimes items come smashed or missing upon receipt

The gLEE Baby Grooming Kit is coming in at our number five spot. This is a truly convenient baby grooming kit.

Read more

Accessories

It has a lot of essential items that you will need for your baby. The carrying case will keep everything in its place. It also has a user guide to give you important information and tips on using each product provided in the kit.

Portability

The carrying case has compartments to keep everything organized and easy to find. You get some nice bonus items in addition to the basic comb, brush and nail clippers. The medicine dropper is high capacity so you can use it as your little one grows. It also includes a sturdy rattle for distracting your baby while you take care of the much-needed grooming tasks.

Ease of Use

This kit includes a nail file with a handle so you won’t have to worry about using or losing small emery boards. The toothbrush has a handle so you can help direct where it goes without being bitten. Our favorite part of this kit is that the nasal aspirator is easy to clean, you just pull the pieces apart and hands wash with warm soapy water.

Value

The price for this grooming kit is above our median price. It is a great value because you can clean the nasal aspirator and organize your items in the handy carrying case.

6. Baby Care Basics

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
91.8
baby care basics grooming kit
baby care basics grooming kit brush
Amazon Link
Accessories
92
Portability
91
Ease of Use
91
Value
93
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$4.29

Grooming kit includes four items; brush, comb, nail trimmers, and a nasal aspirator

Created from materials of high quality

Features design of innovation

Comb included super soft bristles

Nail clippers with a large grip for easy handling

Nasal aspirator created from harder materials

Nail clippers are hard to fold up

Having a little one is your houses you will notice that completing their grooming needs are much different than you may be used to. Having a grooming kit on hand that is designed for little ones makes that task much easier. This kit includes 4 items that make that task easy, simple, and something that you feel that you can complete without a fuss. From combing their hair to trimming their nails this is the kit that you need from the beginning.

Read more

Accessories

When you open the package you will find that the kit includes; a small soft bristled brush, a small comb, nail trimmers, and a nasal aspirator. All of these items make completing their grooming routine easier. Each of the items has been completed tested to ensure that they are durable and safe to use on a newborn to toddler.

Portability

When you have a little one you never know when you will to comb their hair, trim a nail, or even get tall that mucus out of their nose. So that means that carrying these items along with you is a must. The items included in this kit are easier to carry along because of their size. Each of the items is small in size making it easy to place in a small bag and take along.

Ease of Use

The kit includes items that have been made from materials that are of high quality. Plus the designs of each of them are some of the most innovative designs on the market. The design makes it easy to use and with the easy to grip handles, large nail clipper handle, and soft bulb feature of the nasal aspirator.

Value

When it comes to value this kit is the ultimate value. It includes a four piece set of grooming items that are essential to the baby’s routine. The price of the kit comes in at the low end, but don’t let that discourage you from this set. They are quality items that have been created from durable items plus the design of the pieces are innovating and ready to assist.

7. Fridababy Bitty Bundle of Joy

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
90
fridababy bitty bundle of joy grooming kit
fridababy bitty bundle of joy grooming kit details
Amazon Link
Accessories
90
Portability
91
Ease of Use
90
Value
89
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$49.90

Nasal care

Tummy care

Mommy care

Carrying case

Nail care

Expensive

Our number seven pick is the Fridababy Bitty Bundle of Joy mom and baby kit. This is a great choice for parents it has essential baby items and some convenience items for mom to use on herself.

Read more

Accessories

This kit has items to help with baby gas, mom postnatal care, baby nail grooming, and baby nasal care. This is really a useful baby care kit.

Portability

The award-winning Nosefrida is included in this kit. It is an alternative to the traditional bulb nasal aspirator. You use a filtered tube to hygienically suck snot out of your little one’s nose. It also has the Windi to help your baby pass stubborn gas. This all comes in a convenient carrying case with a handle.

Ease of Use

The best thing about this kit is they did not forget to take care of the new mom. It includes the Fridet, a reusable peri bottle washer specifically made for mom’s postnatal care needs. The nail emery board is made in an ‘s’ shape for easy holding and maneuverability.

Value

This is the most expensive kit on our list. It has high-quality award-winning items conveniently packaged together for mom and baby. The fact that this company thought of mom care makes it a great value!

8. Mommy's Helper Nursery Essentials

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
89.8
mommy's helper nursery essentials grooming kit
mommy's helper nursery essentials grooming kit pieces
Amazon Link
Accessories
91
Portability
89
Ease of Use
90
Value
89
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$16.33

Rounded tips on the comb

Organizational carrying case

Boo-boo pack included

Soft bristle brush

Cleanable nasal aspirator

Some cheaply made items

Mommy’s Helper Nursery Essentials is our number eight pick. This grooming kit has a well-organized carrying case that will keep everything neatly in its place.

Read more

Accessories

The included nasal aspirator separates for easy cleaning. The comb has rounded longer tines to prevent you from accidentally scratching your baby’s sensitive head when combing their hair. The brush has soft bristles and a longer handle for easy brushing.

Portability

It includes many essential items and a few bonus items that will make parenting a baby easier. This is a great kit if you like to keep things neat and organized.

Ease of Use

The boo-boo pack is our favorite item in this kit. It is a convenient cold pack in a small disk shape perfect for putting on little bumps and bruises that are inevitable when you have a little one discovering the world.

Value

This grooming kit is priced in the middle of our list. The carrying case with organizational features makes this a great value. The items included have special safety features that will make you feel comfortable using them on your new baby.

9. Foraco Solavae

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
88.3
foraco solavae baby grooming kit
foraco solavae baby grooming kit nail clipping
Amazon Link
Accessories
89
Portability
88
Ease of Use
87
Value
89
best offer for today
Amazon Link

Compact carrying case

Vertical storage for easy accessibility

Universal ergonomic handles

Rounded tip on nasal tweezers

Emory board with handle

The nail clippers are big for newborn hands

The Solave Newborn, Baby, and Toddler Grooming Kit is our number nine choice. This grooming kit has everything you need to keep your little one’s nails in great shape.

Read more

Accessories

You can keep them short and smooth on the edges so your baby isn’t scratching you or themselves. The kit includes a convenient carrying case and something to assist with nasal care.

Portability

The egg-shaped carrying case keeps everything in one place and fits nicely in a diaper bag or near a changing table. It has a place for everything to fit in vertically so you do not have to waste time searching in a bag for your items.

Ease of Use

The nail scissors and nail clippers have ergonomic and universal handles that will work for both left and right-handed people. This kit includes nasal tweezers to hygienically assist with booger removal. This is a great small grooming kit to keep nearby for when your baby’s nails need a quick trim.

Value

This kit is on the low end of our price point. It is a great value because the items are easily accessible and extremely useful. You will be using these items as your baby grows into a toddler. It also includes an emery board with a handle for easy maneuverability.

10. Safety 1st Stock Up Full Circle

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
85.8
safety 1st stock up full circle baby grooming kit
safety 1st stock up full circle baby grooming kit easy to store
Amazon Link
Accessories
87
Portability
86
Ease of Use
85
Value
85
best offer for today
Amazon Link

Compact carrying case

Vertical storage for easy accessibility

Universal ergonomic handles

Rounded tip on nasal tweezers

Emery board with handle

The nail clippers are big for newborn hands

Our number ten pick is the Safety 1st Stock-Up Grooming Kit. This is truly an item that includes all of the little grooming items you will need for your baby.

Read more

Accessories

It also includes a few needed medical items as well. The two carrying cases will make it easy to take items on the go in your diaper bag as needed. This is a great grooming kit if you are looking for an all in one solution.

Portability

This kit also included two carrying cases one is big and has three see-through zipper compartments, the other one is smaller for travel so you can place a few items in your diaper bag as needed.

Ease of Use

This kit has a very handy cradle cap comb with two different types of combs. One is a rubber tipped comb for listening flakes and the other is a small narrow toothed comb that will brush them out gently. It also has two nasal aspirators to assist you when your little guy or gal has a runny nose.

Value

The cost for this kit is near the top of our price point. It comes with many much-needed baby items that will make your life easier. It is a great value because you can pop the items you need while out of the house into the smaller carrying case as needed.

Criteria Used for Evaluation

Accessories

Parent comfort and baby comfort are key when you are trying to clip tiny little nails. You need to make sure that the nail scissors you have fit well into your hand so that you can properly trim your little one’s nails. You also need to have ergonomic nail clippers so you can comfortably use them. If your nail care items are not comfortable and do not fit into your hand easily it makes it easier mistakenly clip your little guy or gal’s skin. We also made sure that the brushes in our selected grooming kits have baby safe bristles so you will not be able to injure your little one’s scalp while you brush. The handles on the brushes and combs are made to fit the hand of an adult comfortably without being so big that you can’t use it on a small baby. Comfort for mom and baby are always a priority for our lists.

Portability

With a new baby, comes new things and many, many accessories. New parents already have to figure out where everything is going to go in your baby's nursery and we wanted to make sure that these kits wouldn’t take up a lot of room. We’ve stated before how this kit is the perfect size to use from a newborn baby all the way up to when your baby is a toddler. Most of these kits come in a variety of styles, cases, bags, and boxes. Some you’ll even be able to carry on the road with you as they’ll be able to fit right inside your diaper bag.

Ease of Use

We also took into consideration convenience. We wanted to make sure that we made your life a little bit easier by making sure that these kits were accessible whenever you needed them. Some of these kits are the perfect size from newborn and will grow along until your child reaches that young toddler stage. It’s important to know that most of these kits on our list will fit your needs until your child is about two years old.

Value

One factor that was important for us was making sure that these items wouldn’t break. The last thing a parent would want is in the middle of grooming their baby is having whatever tool they’re using break mid-process. Each of these kits is durable, long lasting and can be kept in a proper container so you won’t have to wonder about where you put that fingernail clipper. Each kit was assessed based on several factors to determine how their quality matches up against their cost.

Most Important Criteria (According to our experts opinion)
Sort criterias acording to:
Experts Opinion Editors Opinion Users Opinion By Default
Click on a to rate the most important criteria:
#1
Accessories
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#2
Portability
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#3
Ease of Use
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#4
Value
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
Parents, Did You Know?

One thing that parents need to be reminded of is that you should eventually get new baby nail clippers and scissors as you won’t want to use those ones forever. It’s all about good hygiene. Eventually, those will need replacing. Each of the kits on our list all has a high rating. We wanted nothing but the best of the best of these products and we made sure that we found them.

Parents, Did You Know?

The best time to cut your baby's nails is after a bath because their nails get softer.

Other Factors to Consider

Safety

Grooming for a newborn baby isn’t exactly on a new parent's mind. We know that this task tends to get lost sometimes or at least the most forgotten about when it comes to everything else a new parent has to worry about with their newest addition to their family. We also know how difficult it can be keeping them nice and tidy and out of reach for little hands. Some of these kids do contain medical items but most of them are for nail purposes. There’s also a brush set on our list that will work perfectly for your little one's soft hairs and won’t harm them during the brushing process. One thing we took into special consideration when researching these kits was making sure each kit passed a safety test. We also looked into customer reviews making sure that every customer was satisfied with their purchase. While some reviews, of course, weren’t always positive we also looked at the negatives as well.

Frequently Asked Questions

q: Are nail clippers safe for newborns?

a:

We highly recommend using nail scissors for newborns. They are easier to maneuver and it is easier to see what you are doing with a tool that is smaller. You can certainly use nail clippers, but you must be very careful not to clip your baby’s fingertip. Make sure that your baby’s nails are long enough to fit into the clipper, if the clipper cannot rest between the fingertip and the fingernail then you should not use them. This increases the risk of snipping your baby’s fingertip. As your baby grows and their fingers get bigger it will be much easier to use traditional nail clippers. Many companies recommend the exclusive use of nail scissors for the first 6 to 9 months.

q: How do I use nail scissors?

a:

Nail scissors are not a difficult item to use. You need to make sure you are relaxed and your baby is relaxed before starting any grooming activity. You may want to try doing this while your baby is sleeping at first so you can get more comfortable with the task, or make sure that you have another person nearby to assist with distracting your baby so you can fully focus on the task at hand. You will place the scissors in your hand properly and hold your little one’s hand with the opposite hand. Then you bring the slightly open scissors near your baby’s fingernail and snip off the end. You may have to do this multiple times per nail to ensure that you do not have any sharp edges. Repeat the same process with their toenails. When you are trimming fingernails you want to have a more rounded edge to the nail. When you are trimming toenails make sure that you cut straight across so your baby does not get ingrown toenails.

q: How do I clean my nasal aspirator?

a:

A nasal aspirator is used to suck snot out of your little one’s nose. Little babies can not blow their own noses. It is a skill that is usually acquired around 3 or 4 years old. You have to have an alternative method of snot removal. The traditional bulb style aspirator is the hardest to clean and keep clean. They often hold onto the gunk you remove from your baby. The best way to clean them is to fill a coffee cup (or something of a similar size) with hot soapy water and suck the water up and blow it out of the aspirator multiple times. You then want to store it upright with the bulb at the top so any water can drain out. The bulb style aspirator should be replaced every four to six weeks depending on how often it is used. There are newer style aspirators that have a larger bulb and a removable tip. These aspirators are much easier to clean and only need to be replaced if they are damaged. To clean this style of aspirator you need to first pull apart the bulb and the tip. Once this is done rinse the aspirator parts in warm soapy water and allow to air dry. You can also find aspirators that use human suction to assist with snot removal. This style of aspirator usually has a bulb or syringe style piece that goes at the edge of the baby’s nose. It also has a filter and a long tube with a mouthpiece. The bulb end is placed near the baby’s nose and (with a filter in place) the mouthpiece is placed in a caregiver’s mouth and they create suction by sucking on the mouthpiece. This is a great way to be in full control of the amount of suction you are using to remove snot. To clean this style of nasal aspirator you remove the syringe or bulb style end from the tube and take it apart. You then remove the mouthpiece and rinse all parts in warm soapy water. You will have to remember to change the filter with each use to prevent your baby’s snot from going into the tube and possibly into your mouth.

q: Are emery boards necessary?

a:

Emery boards, nail files, whatever you call them, they are certainly very necessary for your baby. All styles of nail clippers will leave small sharp edges when they are used. An emery board or nail file will be able to easily file away any sharp edges you might have left after clipping your guy or gal’s nails. They are also great in a pinch if you have one stray fingernail that got snagged. You can easily whip out an emery board or nail file and make the nail area smooth again so that you and your baby’s skin is safe from scratches.

q: Do I need a medicine dispenser?

a:

You will most certainly need a medicine dispenser at some point during your child’s infancy. They will need to have vitamins, teething medicine or possible an antibiotic at some point. The kits we have chosen have a variety of medicine dispensers. There is the typical syringe dispenser that is a tube with a narrow opening on one end and a plunger to create suction and push the medicine out. You can find these in over the counter baby medicines. This is the most common type of medicine dispenser. It is not always the most convenient. We also have a grooming kit that includes a pacifier medicine dispenser. This is great for younger babies. Sucking is a reflex, so they will probably get the most medicine this way. There are also small bottle style dispensers. These are great for older babies because they hold a bit more medicine than the pacifier style. You can also find medicine droppers with a bulb at one end of a plastic tube, these work much the same way that the syringe style dispensers work. You can also find spoon style dispensers that have a tube attached to hold the medicine and a spoon end for pouring the medicine into your little one’s mouth. You will be able to figure out what works best for you and your baby quickly. Our recommendation is to try a few types of medicine dispenser so you can find exactly the style that works best for you. Also, remember that babies are constantly growing and changing, so your preference may change with time.

q: Can I trust a grooming kit thermometer?

a:

Many of the reviews that we read had negative things to say about the thermometers included in grooming kits. A thermometer is not the primary purpose of a grooming kit, it is an extra bonus item. Thermometers that must be placed in a baby’s mouth or armpit are incredibly difficult to use correctly. Temperature strips that are placed on your infant’s forehead are just for reference so you know if their temp has spiked. We highly recommend looking into getting a high-quality thermometer for your infant. Grooming kit thermometers are good for quick reference, but a higher quality thermometer will give you a more accurate reading.

Sources

  1. Unknown Author, How to use a bulb syringe or nasal aspirator to clear a stuffy nose, Online Article
  2. Unknown Author, How to trim your baby's nails, Online Article
  3. Women today, How to trim your baby's nails?, Youtube Tutorial
  4. Genevieve Howland, Cradle Cap: 5 Natural Ways to Get Rid of It For Good!, Online Article
  5. Amy Zintl, How to Get Babies to Take Medicine, Online Article