to top 10 table

10 Best Girls Perfumes Reviewed in 2019

last updated May 27, 2019

Girls know that the start of your morning routine is never a simple task. Once you’ve established a morning routine that works for your schedule comes the final touch: which perfume do you want to smell like today? With so many products available in today’s world we know that sometimes of parents and for younger girls it can be hard trying to find what’s considered age appropriate for the younger crowd. We came up with a list of the top ten best perfumes for pre-teens and teenagers that we’re sure your little lady will love the smell of.

In a Hurry? The test winner after 38 hrs of research

icon
One Direction Our Moment
94.3/100 our score
Ingredients
95
Ease of Use
93
Value
95
One Direction Our Moment
Why is it better?

The scent is subtle

It comes in a pretty bottle

Designed by a popular pop band

The undertones smell woodsy but not overwhelming

It's great for preteens and teens

In a Hurry? Editors choice:
One Direction Our Moment
Test Winner: One Direction Our Moment
Amazon Link
Researched Sources
20
Researched Sources
Hours Researching
38
Hours Researching
Products Evaluated
16
Products Evaluated
Last Updated:
Avatar
By Lyndsey Fosher:

For this update we added five new products to our best perfumes of 2019 list. We made sure that we had the best of the best on our list and we did that with updating our top ten list of what’s available in today’s market.

Sorting Options
Ingredients Ease of Use Value By Default
Rank
PictureProduct
Name
Rating
Shops
#1
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
94.3
Ingredients
95%
Ease of Use
93%
Value
95%
Price Comparison Last Updated (16.07.19)
Amazon Link
$17.63
#2
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
92
Ingredients
93%
Ease of Use
91%
Value
92%
Price Comparison Last Updated (16.07.19)
Amazon Link
$16.00
#3
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
90.3
Ingredients
90%
Ease of Use
91%
Value
90%
Price Comparison Last Updated (16.07.19)
Amazon Link
$19.02
#4
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
89.7
Ingredients
89%
Ease of Use
90%
Value
90%
Price Comparison Last Updated (16.07.19)
Amazon Link
$100.00
#5
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
89
Ingredients
88%
Ease of Use
89%
Value
90%
Price Comparison Last Updated (16.07.19)
Amazon Link
$20.95
#6
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
88
Ingredients
87%
Ease of Use
87%
Value
90%
Price Comparison Last Updated (16.07.19)
Amazon Link
$14.14
#7
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
87.3
Ingredients
86%
Ease of Use
87%
Value
89%
Price Comparison Last Updated (16.07.19)
Amazon Link
$18.99
#8
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
85
Ingredients
85%
Ease of Use
85%
Value
85%
Price Comparison Last Updated (16.07.19)
Amazon Link
$13.57
#9
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
83.7
Ingredients
83%
Ease of Use
84%
Value
84%
Price Comparison Last Updated (16.07.19)
Amazon Link
$17.93
#10
The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
80.3
Ingredients
81%
Ease of Use
80%
Value
80%
Price Comparison Last Updated (16.07.19)
Amazon Link
$15.99
In Depth Review Top 10
  • One Direction Our Moment
  • Katy Perry Meow
  • Live Luxe by Jennifer Lopez
  • Coach Floral
  • MindWare Science Academy
  • Barbie 100 Ml
  • GUESS Girl
  • Disney Frozen
  • Katy Perry Killer Queen
  • Scented Things Body Mist
Table of contents
  • Criteria Used for Evaluation
  • Other Factors to Consider
  • Frequently Asked Questions
  • Sources

10 Best Girls Perfumes Reviewed

1. One Direction Our Moment

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
94.3
One Direction Our Moment
Amazon Link
Ingredients
95
Ease of Use
93
Value
95
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$17.63

The scent is subtle

It comes in a pretty bottle

Designed by a popular pop band

The undertones smell woodsy but not overwhelming

It's great for preteens and teens

Some say the liquid is an unpleasant color and takes away from the bottle

If you could bottle up one of One Direction's songs and create a scent out of it, that's what you'd smell in this bottle. It's light, slightly floral and musky, and perfect for fans. Long last scent which will delight the users and those that are nearby by, easy to use the application, just a little spray. You know the band One Direction, but do you know they came out with their very own perfume? Young girls absolutely love playing this band on repeat and, trust us, they'll be over the moon when they find out they can dance around to One Direction while wearing their signature scent.

Read more

Ingredients

The bottle itself has a gorgeous design and looks like a gemstone when it's sitting on a dresser or shelf, but the aroma is something we're really digging. It's described as a "floral, fruity" scent, which is what hits your nose up front, but the magic happens in the undertones of this perfume. With subtle hints of patchouli and a slight musk, this perfume comes off smelling feminine with a bit of woodsy flair to it. It's unique and soft enough for a child to wear while also being versatile enough for an adult to use with a few extra spritzes. Girls of all ages will love this, especially teens who still love to jam out to One Direction.

Ease of Use

There are no surprises when it comes to this perfume. How it's described is how it smells and it's just feminine enough to give a subtle floral note to any child's presence.

Value

If it was inspired by One Direction, then you know it's got to have a romantic and flirty air to it! Teen girls will absolutely love this perfume, from the pretty bottle to the fact that they'll smell like an adult.

2. Katy Perry Meow

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
92
Katy Perry Meow
Amazon Link
Ingredients
93
Ease of Use
91
Value
92
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$16.00

Bright

Very Fruity

Adorable Packaging

Scent stays on for a long time

Some customers didn’t like the bottle that it came in.

Some noted that they wished the scent was stronger but still impressed with the scent overall

Katy Perry is known around the world for her funky style. However, her perfumes are a bit more subtle and perfect for the younger generation. This particular perfume known as “Meow Eau De Perfume” has a sweet scent to it.

Read more

Ingredients

This perfume is made of scents like honeysuckle lily, orange blossom, jasmine, pear, and tangerine. There may even be a hint of amber, vanilla sandalwood, and musk.

Ease of Use

While this scent is mixed up with a lot of sweetness to it, the scent it’s self has been rumored to not be overly strong or overly sweet. It’s just sweet enough.

Value

We love this product because it’s perfect for any age. Even for a loved one. This scent isn’t overly strong and it’s very youthful! It’s perfect for any occasion and lasts all day long.

3. Live Luxe by Jennifer Lopez

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
90.3
Live Luxe by Jennifer Lopez
Amazon Link
Ingredients
90
Ease of Use
91
Value
90
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$19.02

Fruity

Lasts for a long period of time

Does not have an overwhelming smell to it.

some customers were concerned that it would leave a shimmer, it does not.

Live Luxe is created by none other than JLO herself. This particular perfume is on the fruity side of life. Perfect for anyone who wants to smell like a peach for a day!

Read more

Ingredients

This perfume is made up of scents like peaches, melons, pears and has some honeysuckle to it as well. It is very fruity and perfect to make anyone want to

Ease of Use

We love this perfume because it’s so fruity you’ll feel like a peach all day long! If you love the smell of fruit, want something that lasts, and want a ton of compliments asking who you’re wearing this is the perfect scent

Value

A perfume with a well-known celebrity name and a very nice scent.

4. Coach Floral

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
89.7
Coach Floral
Amazon Link
Ingredients
89
Ease of Use
90
Value
90
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$100.00

Light, diverse scent

Designed for "free spirits"

Will appeal to a variety of tastes

Perfect choice for teens who don't like strong scents

Inspired by their classic logo

It is expensive

This perfume might seem like an extravagant gift but it's really quite perfect for teenage girls. All you need to do is check out that logo to know that this is well worth it. This is a serious fragrance for the serious teen. Everyone has heard of the brand Coach and now your child can wear one of their most popular signature scents. The fragrance was inspired by Coach's signature leather, Tea Roses, so not only is your child getting a designer-brand perfume, but she'll also be wearing a scent that was inspired by the log that everyone knows

Read more

Ingredients

It is a bit high-end as far as price goes but trust us, you won't need to spray too much of this in order to have a full-bodied scent surround you. It's absolutely perfect for teens who love perfumes but don't enjoy anything that's too strong or overwhelming floral or fruity.

This aroma is the perfect balance of citrus, spice with a bit of pink peppercorn, and a subtle hint of fruitiness in the form of pineapple. Undertones including more serious notes, such as jasmine and gardenia, before revealing the deepest notes of patchouli and musk. It's a transformative fragrance that your child will love using as her signature scent.

Ease of Use

This perfume was created by Coach for the "free-spirited" girl so you can be sure that it won't be too strong or musky. Many designer-brand perfumes can often be overwhelming and much too strong for preteens and teens, but this one is an exception.

Value

We love that although this perfume comes with a higher price tag, it doesn't come in a bottle that's too flashy or extravagant. The scent itself isn't too much either which is a nod to how much Coach appreciates high quality.

5. MindWare Science Academy

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
89
MindWare Science Academy
Amazon Link
Ingredients
88
Ease of Use
89
Value
90
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$20.95

Promotes STEM

Educational

Easy to follow

Can make more than just perfumes!

Some customers had a hard time creating the bath bombs

This kit is for your young scientist at home! If your daughter hasn’t quite found the scent she’s looking for and can’t exactly pinpoint on if she likes something fruity, sweet or musky, this kit is perfect because she’ll be able to create her own.

Read more

Ingredients

This MindWare perfume kit comes with an easy to follow instruction booklet full and comes with everything that your child will need to start creating her own perfume line.

Ease of Use

It comes with four of the essential perfume scents, beakers, bottles, stirring sticks, color pigments for her to choose from, and so much more! It’s also recommended for children 8 and up!

Value

We love this kit because it lets your child create their own perfume and body care line! Not only will it show them the process of how perfumes are made but they’ll be able to feel like a real scientist while they are creating their masterpieces along the way.

6. Barbie 100 Ml

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
88
Barbie 100 Ml
Amazon Link
Ingredients
87
Ease of Use
87
Value
90
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$14.14

A unique blend of scents

Has plenty of floral notes

Underlying musk makes it feel more mature

A must-have for fans of Barbie

Nostalgic and fun for adults as well

Some claim it's a bit too strong

Everyone loves Barbie and now your child can smell just like her! In all seriousness, this fragrance is loved by both teens and adults alike. You know her from your own childhood as well as your child's, that's right -- It's Barbie! Lovers of this doll can officially rejoice over the fact that your child can now have her very own perfume inspired by her favorite character.

Read more

Ingredients

Barbie is famous for being a strong, independent woman and taking on any adventure that comes her way, and this perfume is completely representative of that. It's perfectly floral and girly, which is very reminiscent of the tiny Barbie sprays that many of us had as kids. While you're experiencing some serious nostalgia, your child will be loving the fact that she can wear this perfume all day, whenever she wants. For something that's intended for preteens and teens, this fragrance comes in a pretty fancy bottle that almost looks like it's a designer brand. It's a simple bottle with a geometric top and Barbie's name scrawled across in that classic script. The liquid inside is a pretty pale pink, also reminiscent of all the happy, girly things that Barbie represents. As far as the scent goes, it hits fairly hard on the floral notes but has a nice balance of sweet with musk.

Ease of Use

Some have even said that this perfume smells almost like it'd be for an adult which is a lovely nod to how high-quality it is. When it comes to brands such as Barbie, it can be tough to tell if the quality is worth it, but this one absolutely lives up to the hype.

Value

The floral notes in this perfume are unique, as it sports a slight lily of the valley scent combined with rose, lemon, and nutmeg. This leads to one interesting blend that's just enough to catch people's attention.

7. GUESS Girl

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
87.3
GUESS Girl
Amazon Link
Ingredients
86
Ease of Use
87
Value
89
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$18.99

Long Lasting

Fruity & Sweet

The bottle is fancy and looks pretty

Some claim it's a bit strong

Created by Guess “Guess Girl is a young, extremely girly styled perfume. It’s perfect for any occasion whether it’s a formal event, birthday party or just everyday wear.

Read more

Ingredients

This perfume has a bit of raspberry scent to it. While it’s not overly empowering it does have a fruity side as well as a sweet side to it. It lasts all night long and even will last long on your outfit until it’s washed.

Ease of Use

Friendly Reminder: is that the Eau De Parfum contains more volume of perfume oil vs the Eau Du Toilette which will make your scent last longer.

Value

We love this product because it will make your pre-teen feel a bit older. While this packaging is beautiful, the scent does have a bit more of an elegance side to it. However, it’s still perfect to wear for any occasion!

8. Disney Frozen

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
85
Disney Frozen
Amazon Link
Ingredients
85
Ease of Use
85
Value
85
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$13.57

You don't need much for it to work

The packaging and bottle are of excellent quality

The scent is light and feminine

Could be a Frozen collector's item

Contains a layered fragrance

Parents thought the scent was too musky

If smelling like an ice queen is more your child's thing, why not try out a Frozen perfume for size? They'll love everything about this slightly floral scent including its neat packaging. You had to know it was coming once you saw that Disney made the list -- We couldn't include the best perfumes out there without adding a signature Frozen scent to the list! With the overwhelmingly good reception after the movie first premiered, there was plenty of merchandise to follow.

Read more

Ingredients

One of those items happens to be a perfume that was inspired by the one and only Elsa but we promise you, this scent will totally warm your child's heart rather than make it icy cold. With notes of mandarin, jasmine, musk, and lily of the valley, this scent captures everything that Elsa represents. You'll also notice undertones of amber and woodsy notes which makes this perfume uniquely layered. Let's talk about the exterior of this bottle now. The packaging is just as well-thought-out as the perfume itself and features sisters Elsa and Anna on the front with their good pal Olaf. The bottle is in the shape of a pink crown which is fitting for the overall look.

Ease of Use

This fragrance is surprisingly mature for a child but that just adds to the feeling of being a grown-up while wearing it. You don't need too much in order to make it last which is one great aspect of it.

Value

It's so perfectly Frozen-inspired that even we need to tip our hats to Disney for this creation. The scent truly reminds you of snowy winters and pretty ice queens and for that, we're grateful.

9. Katy Perry Killer Queen

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
83.7
Katy Perry Killer Queen
Amazon Link
Ingredients
83
Ease of Use
84
Value
84
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$17.93

Sultry Scent

Long lasting

Not overwhelming

Affordable

some customers received their bottle broken

Katy Perry does it again with her hit scent “Killer Queen”. For those unfamiliar with the title of this perfume it’s actually a tribute to the artist Freddie Mercury who is known as the lead singer of the famous band Queen.

Read more

Ingredients

This scent is mixed up of wild berries, jasmine, and a few others in-between. While most perfumes can be worn at any time of the day, this particular one is mainly meant for a night out on the town or during the colder seasons like fall or winter.

Ease of Use

We love this perfume because it will give any young girl a feeling of sophistication and boost their confidence when people keep asking who they’re wearing!

Value

While this perfume is made for being worn at night or in during colder weather it can also be worn anytime a person chooses too! It lasts forever and is the perfect scent for any occasion!

10. Scented Things Body Mist

The rating is based on the average rating (1-100) from all the criteria in which we rated this product.
80.3
Scented Things Body Mist
Amazon Link
Ingredients
81
Ease of Use
80
Value
80
best offer for today
Amazon Link
$15.99

Three unique scents come in the set

Very affordable

The packaging is nice and minimal

Each scent reflects different aromatic undertones

The colors help to differentiate between fragrances

They're strong but don't last as long as some people would like

Elegant and understated is exactly how we would describe these perfumes. The set contains three unique fragrances that each have a bit of their own personality. While we'll be the first to admit that the look of these perfume bottles is a bit unusual, they do come off as looking very high-end without the massive cost of having a designer brand perfume. These are a tad stronger than some other fragrances on this list and really come in clutch for teens who are looking for a signature scent.

Read more

Ingredients

This gift set includes three perfumes that all smell completely different so that your teen won't be stuck wearing one fragrance all the time. Each scent is different and contains either a floral or musky aroma which allows your teen to choose what suits her needs. Hilariously, these have also been used by several parents who have fallen in love with the fragrances, which is a great nod to how great they do smell. There's no way fragrance in here that is loved more than the next which might make the decision hard for your teen, but it's a giant score in your parent book!

Ease of Use

Having the choice of three different, but all equally as pleasant, perfumes are something that teens will definitely appreciate. It's hard enough to plan a fancy outfit for the night, being restricted to one perfume scent shouldn't be an additional problem!

Value

The design of these perfume bottles is minimal yet fancy which means they won't stand out or look cheap if left on a dresser or in the bathroom. They're also strong but not overwhelming so you won't have to worry about your child smelling like nothing but flowers for days straight.

Criteria Used for Evaluation

Ingredients

Many a time, people are convinced that a perfume is either too strong or not strong enough based on one spray. Often, this is not the case, it’s just the application that could be affecting how particles reach your nose. Perfume is not designed to create a wall of aroma the second that you walk into the room, but it’s also not meant to be so subtle that you can’t smell it unless you’re incredibly close to someone. The trick is in how you apply each fragrance and according to the French method, it absolutely makes a difference. For starters, and this is especially important with high-end, pricier perfumes, it’s important to note that if a perfume is created well, you shouldn’t need a lot of it in order to smell it from a distance. The most significant wrongdoing that people commit when spraying perfume, and a habit that many girls pick up from their older siblings or parents, is to rub your wrist together after spraying.

Ease of Use

Another important thing to note is how you store your perfume. While your child might not think of it, how they keep their fragrance is actually very important in regards to how long it’ll last. Perfume should be kept out of any extreme temperatures meaning out of the bathroom when they’re taking a shower and away from anywhere it could get cold, such as the car or near a window. Perfumes should also be kept out of direct sunlight, as the heat can change the chemistry happening between molecules, thus altering the scent. Perfume should always be kept at room temperature in a place that doesn’t get direct sunlight in order to preserve it and ensure that your child has the most wear out of it as possible.

Value

To reference what we said earlier about how a good perfume shouldn’t need to be used frequently throughout the day, smaller bottles also last much longer. Many of the items on our list come in relatively small amounts which helps to preserve the shelf-life of them and ensure that your child will have at least three months of solid use out of them. Perfumes can even be transferred to small bottles if necessary, in order to keep from re-opening a larger bottle and allowing it to air out.

Most Important Criteria (According to our experts opinion)
Sort criterias acording to:
Experts Opinion Editors Opinion Users Opinion By Default
Click on a to rate the most important criteria:
#1
Ingredients
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#2
Ease of Use
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
#3
Value
Rate This Criteria as Most Important
Parents, Did you Know?

Perfumes should always be applied to hot spots on the body. These include the neck, the insides of your elbows, and your wrists. However, there are some exceptions to consider. Any fragrance that’s being covered by a piece of clothing is a waste of a spray since what you’ll smell will be too subtle, if anything comes from it at all. Because of this, your teen can opt to spray areas that are exposed to her clothing (even a spritz over the top of her head!). In hot summer months, sweat can diffuse and change the scent of some perfumes, therefore it’s better to take the hit and spray in areas that are covered and protected from any potentially destructive oils.

Parents, Did you Know?

When choosing a perfume do consider how the perfume which you choose will be applied. The two main options are spray or dabbing directly onto the skin. Think about the times when you will want to use perfume, both application methods appear convenient, a spray is very quick yet so is dabbing onto the screen. The implications are that a perfume spray bottle is less easy to carry around than a cap top perfume bottle. The spray unit on a bottle needs to be properly corrected. A small bottle with a sealed screw top is easier to protect and carry.

Other Factors to Consider

Capacity

The scent itself reacts with enzymes that occur naturally in your skin and this will vary from person to person. This is why each perfume smells differently on different people and explains why something might smell amazing to one person and awful to the next. By rubbing your arms together, thus creating friction, you’re also released extra enzymes that can drastically change the scent of the fragrance of your choosing. This affects the overall chemistry and can actually cause your perfume to smell different each time you wear it.

The idea is to “rub it in” when, in reality, there’s absolutely no need to do that. A light spritz and some patience will do the trick just fine and you’ll be left with a fragrance that’s still signature to you, but also smells the same every single time.

Frequently Asked Questions

q: Can my child travel with any of these?

a:

Many of these perfumes fall under the national limit for mL that can be taken on a plane, so yes, they are travel-friendly. As for travel by boat or car, as long as the glass bottles are cushioned and securely tightened, they should be fine.

q: How young can a child start using these?

a:

We recommend that all of these perfumes be used by kids over the age of six, simply because any younger than that, the notion of smelling good tends to be lost on them. Kids over the age of six will be able to understand how to use sprays in moderation as well.

q: How long will a bottle last?

a:

Depending on which perfume you choose, most should last at least three months.

q: If she doesn’t like one of the scents in the variety pack, can it be returned?

a:

In all likelihood, returns are a possibility. However, keep in mind that when you purchase a variety set, you also accept the chance that one fragrance will be loved more than another.

q: Could these be used as unisex fragrances?

a:

While they do smell very floral and fruity, we don’t see why a boy couldn’t use these if he loved the fragrance enough.

q: How do they compare to higher-end brands?

a:

Each one of these has been evaluated based on their quality in comparison to well-known brands (some of which have made this list) as well as how they perform on their own. Thus, they are all excellent quality.